We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tucked away gem. Don't be deceived by location!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Prawnbroker Restaurant and Fish Market

Prawnbroker Restaurant and Fish Market
13451 - 16 McGregor Blvd, Fort Myers, FL 33919
(239) 489 - 2226
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #33 of 673 Restaurants in Fort Myers
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Tucked away gem. Don't be deceived by location!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2013

Absolutely outstanding meal, surpassing those recently enjoyed at sister restaurant, university grill. Seated in charming atrium area, immediately served fresh warm
Honey oat bread by attentive and pleasant server. Shrimp cocktail consisted of five HUGE, meaty, delicious fresh shrimp. Husband and I both ordered tilapia captiva, stuffed with fresh crabmeat and topped with delicious lobster sauce. Harcotte vert were tender and
delicious. My salad was crisp and nicely presented and his cup of chowder equally satisfying. Can't imagine how packed this must get in season but certainly worth the wait and not to be missed. We will be back. Many times!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

245 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    132
    74
    21
    10
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Powder Springs, Georgia
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Excellent food and attentive service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2013

My daughter and I were on vacation at Fort Myers Beach and wanted to try a nice seafood restaurant........checked the TripAdvisor reviews and decided on the Prawnbroker. It was a great choice for the grouper and shrimp dishes we selected. But our real favorite was the escargot in a garlic sauce appetizer....a first for my thirteen year old and she loved it. :) We had a great time and a great dinner

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Myers Beach, Florida
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“My Favorite Restaurant in Fort Myers”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2013

Service is great. The servers seem to have a knack for pairing their wine with their food. I had a nice Chardonnay with their Seafood mix and it was wonderful. Another visit rendered a great white wine pairing with their Paella which was probably the best this side of Mallorca. Their presentation always seems to stack up and the atmosphere is always second to none. I've been going their since the late 70's and thought it was time to write a review. A must visit and don't forget the early bird dinner time each day. You'll save money and they don't compromise anything to give you a better deal.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Aunt's favorite dinner place”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2013

This is our aunt's favorie dinner place for 'special guests. We had escargot, stuffed mushrooms, crunchy platter, broiled platter, and shrimp platter.
Broiled platter: shrimp was delish, didn't mention what the fish was
Shrimp platter: nicely varied, fired, provencal, stuffed
Crab cake stuffing was mushy.
They didn't ever ask for drink orders.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brodhead, Wisconsin
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Very good food and service!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2013

The crab legs and lobster were very good. Crab legs were a little expensive vs. some other restaurants in the area. The shrimp bisque was also excellent. Would definitely recommend the Prawnbroker to other visitors.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Prawnbroker Restaurant and Fish Market also viewed

Fort Myers, Southwest Gulf Coast
Fort Myers, Southwest Gulf Coast
 
Fort Myers, Southwest Gulf Coast
 

Been to Prawnbroker Restaurant and Fish Market? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Prawnbroker Restaurant and Fish Market, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.