We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“They do it right!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Prawnbroker Restaurant and Fish Market

Prawnbroker Restaurant and Fish Market
13451 - 16 McGregor Blvd, Fort Myers, FL 33919
(239) 489 - 2226
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #32 of 673 Restaurants in Fort Myers
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Grosse Pointe, Michigan
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“They do it right!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013

Outstanding food, but best of all, excellent service and management. It as wonderful to experience such efficient activity.

We highly recommend this restaurant! Excellent value!

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

246 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    133
    74
    21
    10
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Newton, Massachusetts
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Fresh & Good”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

The Prawnbroker is the next best thing for eating fresh seafood. The service is great. The food is so fresh it's like being on the shores of Maine with the fresh catch of the day. In the busy season, make reservations because it gets very busy and usually there is a wait.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“One of the Best in Fort Myers”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

We have been coming to this restaurant for a long time. Great food, professional service, good drinks, and nice surroundings. The seafood is preferred but everything is good.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Disappointed”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

Saw Prawnbroker on Tripadvisor and we were in the area so we gave it a try. The inside was nicer than I expected. There is a small fish market with high prices typical of what we have seen in the area. Prices here are double to triple of what we pay at home. We were seated promptly and served bread and butter. The bread was very good. I ordered clam chowder which was thick and creamy with a lot of potato but not many chopped clams. It was early so I ordered the Crunchy Grouper off the early bird menu. When I cut into it I was shocked to see the inside didn't look right at all. Best I can describe it, the fish looked like a raw chicken thigh throughout. I showed it to our waiter and he immediately took the plate away. When he came back he told us they cut it up in the kitchen and they determined it was the fish's blood line?? He said it was fully cooked, really? Our waiter later admitted it grossed him out too. He brought me a new meal which was normal. The vegetables (mostly broccoli) were over cooked and on the mushy side. The fish was small, but I didn't feel like eating much by now. My wife had a salad she liked and a Boston Haddock dish which was very good. The service was friendly but I had to wait for water refills and finally ask for more water. The value is average. Not in a hurry to go back.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson
Top Contributor
86 reviews 86 reviews
66 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
“A Fort Myers Classic”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2013

Had a special birthday dinner here. Most food was excellent. Caesar salad was good with whole anchovies. Special of parmesan crusted sea bass was great. Veggies were over cooked and limp and tasteless. Scallops entree was a disappointment. The scallops were small and tasteless. Can get much bigger and better ones at Costco. Service was fair. Waiter brought cola instead of coffee "I guess I misread my notes". then brought the coffee. Our father took the cola anyway since it was there - later was charged for it. Pretty tacky for an expensive restaurant. Its worth a return but I think they are a bit over confident due to their reputation and don't try hard enough to please.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Prawnbroker Restaurant and Fish Market also viewed

Fort Myers, Southwest Gulf Coast
Fort Myers, Southwest Gulf Coast
 
Fort Myers, Southwest Gulf Coast
Fort Myers, Southwest Gulf Coast
 

Been to Prawnbroker Restaurant and Fish Market? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Prawnbroker Restaurant and Fish Market, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.