We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Clam Chower!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Prawnbroker Restaurant and Fish Market

Prawnbroker Restaurant and Fish Market
13451 - 16 McGregor Blvd, Fort Myers, FL 33919
(239) 489 - 2226
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #32 of 646 restaurants in Fort Myers
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations
Malabo
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Best Clam Chower!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2013

We eat there every time we are in Fort Myers. The laid back atmosphere, extensive menu and super friendly staff make it a must to visit! The clam chowder is the best I have ever had; I get it every time I eat there.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

222 reviews from our community

84% Recommend
    118
    70
    20
    7
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
“Great ambiance and good food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2013

The ambiance is marvelous here and suggests a fine dining establishment. However, the general mood here is very relaxed and casual. The wait staff's use of the word "guys", as in "how are you guys tonight?" is a bit of a downer when viewed against the very nice decor. By the way, two visits in one month with different servers netted us the "you guys..." slang. However, the food is good although choose wisely as some entries such as the breaded fish items are pricey. And if you're watching calories, the vegetables that come with the dinner, and small portions of those too, are slathered in butter. Overall, it's nice and casual - just order wisely.

    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ft. myers
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Go for shellfish, not so much for variety”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2013

Yeah, I have a shellfish allergy, but my wife loves the stuff, so I try to find alternatives. Tried the steak here--poor. Tried fish--sometimes very good, other times not so much, and obviously another species, though both times listed as the same. By all reports, the shellfish is great, however.

Visited March 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aliso Viejo, California, United States
Top Contributor
97 reviews 97 reviews
61 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Hidden Gem!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2013

Ate last year with a coworker who has had a condo in Sannibel for 20 years and he had never found this place. Let me tell you we loved it and he is as finicky as it gets. Just be prepared to make reservations well in advance! If you can't get what you want go to the sister restaurant The University Grill!

Visited March 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Punta Gorda, Florida, USA
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“the best”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

12 of us drove from Punta Gorda on the recommendation of a friend. We were not disappointed and we have some real foodies in our group. Service- exceptional. Fra Diavlo with mixed seafood was amazing. All of the seafoods in each entree were cooked to perfection. We will be back!

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Prawnbroker Restaurant and Fish Market also viewed

Fort Myers, Southwest Gulf Coast
Fort Myers, Southwest Gulf Coast
 
Fort Myers, Southwest Gulf Coast
Fort Myers, Southwest Gulf Coast
 

Been to Prawnbroker Restaurant and Fish Market? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Prawnbroker Restaurant and Fish Market, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.