We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful As Always but Room for Improvement” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Prawnbroker Restaurant and Fish Market

Prawnbroker Restaurant and Fish Market
13451 - 16 McGregor Blvd, Fort Myers, FL 33919
(239) 489 - 2226
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #41 of 654 Restaurants in Fort Myers
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Fort Myers, Florida
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Wonderful As Always but Room for Improvement”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2012

The fish items at the Prawnbroker are as good as it gets; fresh, hot and cooked to perfection. The soft shelled crab (sauteed) is one of my favorites, the best I've had. Call ahead at noon of the day of dining to reserve your order as they do sell out and avoid waiting by making a reservation.
Now room for improvement - house salads are just blah and about as good as throwing bagged lettuce in a bowl, seriously needs rethinking. The service can be good depending on your server - last nights service was very good (Susan) but on several occasions we have been rushed through dinner with no time to relax and enjoy. If they'd fix these minor issues then I'll be giving them an Excellent.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

238 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    127
    72
    21
    10
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Excellent food!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

The food here is awesome! We went during "Early Bird" hours and also got great value. I love the atmosphere here, too. Overall, great visit!

Visited February 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salina, Kansas
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Going again this March”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012

Will not miss a stop there. VERY good. Had a wonderful fish. This place is a bit hard to find so be sure to not just drive by it. You will not make a mistake by waiting as you might have to do. GREAT place. Food is so good and service is very good.

Visited March 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, Ohio
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Reliable”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012

Enjoyed another visit to the Prawnbroker last week on a Monday night. Same reliably relaxed atmosphere, good service , great food. Had Pasta Proventiale with Clams. Absolutely delightful. Highly recommend( if one like strongly flavored foods).

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ft. Myers, FL
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Not go good!”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2012

Last evening my bride and I traveled to the Prawnbroker for dinner. This is a resturant that we visit frequently but it is some distance from home. And for this occasion -- we decided to to it. I would like to tell you that all was well -- but it was not.
First -- the food was served to us with great dispatch but NOT TOO HOT. Read -- cool. If you like baked potato, carrots and sea bass served cool on a cold plate , then you will be delighted.
Second -- we had been blessed with receiving some certificates for birthdays and what nots from this restaurant on earlier occasions and in the mail. But tonight -- not acceptable. Expired we were told.
But -- wait -- said the dining room manager. Maybe someone will figure this out and call you tomorrow. Well that did not happen.
So, cold food, an unhappy reception and no follow up.
Did I say that we were the youngest people in the house? And we are in our 70's.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Prawnbroker Restaurant and Fish Market also viewed

Fort Myers, Southwest Gulf Coast
Fort Myers, Southwest Gulf Coast
 
Fort Myers, Southwest Gulf Coast
Fort Myers, Southwest Gulf Coast
 

Been to Prawnbroker Restaurant and Fish Market? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Prawnbroker Restaurant and Fish Market, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.