We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delicious food and great service” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Prawnbroker Restaurant and Fish Market

Prawnbroker Restaurant and Fish Market
13451 - 16 McGregor Blvd, Fort Myers, FL 33919
(239) 489 - 2226
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #21 of 641 Restaurants in Fort Myers
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Coal City
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
“Delicious food and great service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2012

The early bird specials were great! The shrimp was excellent. We also liked the warm bread they brought to the table before dinner.

Visited February 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

289 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    160
    85
    26
    10
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Englewood, Florida
Top Contributor
121 reviews 121 reviews
73 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
“Great seafood restaurant-make reservations!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2012

We both enjoyed the seafood choices.
Service was prompt and friendly in a brisk way.
The restaurant was packed on a Friday night, so we had to wait (good cocktails, though).
Next time we will arrive earlier or make reservations.
We will return!

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Great food..”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2012

I had the coconut shrimp..yummy. They made us some wonderful martinies to start. The waitress was very helpful and took great care of us.

Visited February 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LucyintheSky12
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
“"20 years and never a bad meal..."”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2012

We went to Prawnbrokers the first time with a group of locals we know from Fort Meyers Beach. They told us in they'd "been going here 20 years and never had a bad meal." That's a strong recommendation from anyone spending their hard-earned dollars to eat out, so that's where we gladly went. Since then, we've been repeat customers. For the purposes of this review, I am assuming that a)you have a minimum of disposable income and b)you are focused on the food & not the clientele.

The first time there, it was prior to 5;30pm & we were able to order from the 1/2 plate "early bird" menu. The menu is available online for the curious. The prices were great, the seafood is fresh & I prefer to have a 1/2 order & finish it, rather than pay for (& take home/reheat) something that was enough and better freshly cooked. I had the fried shrimp, Dad had the blackened grouper & hubby ordered the seafood platter (which was not on the early menu at $24.95.) If you want to partake of the early menu, be sure to have reservations & put your order in by 5:30pm or you will be dissapointed.

Reservations are definately advisable in high season. If you have them, & it's not a holiday or special occasion, the seating and service were very prompt. The drinks are rightly stiff-- no skimping here, just well-made martinis, with the overage served in a little flask. The decor, to me, was very lovely, warm & inviting. I am always fascinated with fine woodwork & intricate moldings in restaurants--picking up ideas to use at home. These are all kept very clean & free of dust. The artwork around the restaurant is old Florida, but, as an artist, I appreciated it and found it lovely.

I have heard comments aroud the internet (not necessarily in regard to this restaurant) that refer to the age bracket of customers. This is useful to those who are younger and looking for a "scene," but aside from that, I find it to be offensive, even though I am not a "senior." For those who prefer a younger crowd, rather than focusing on the food, this is a "family" place that has a predominantly over 50 crowd who appreciates & can afford really good and fresh seafood. I am not a food "snob." If the food (& sanitation) are good, I will eat at a side-of-the-road stand to get really good, fresh food (see my other reviews.). If this is what your budget allows, then it does not, by definition, mean sacrifice. In that case, when you have a special occasion, splurge via Prawnbrokers' early menu for a special occasion & leave the kids at home or ask about a kids menu.

My fried shrimp off the early menu was just enough, about 6, quite large, very fresh & crunchy with a not-too-spicy shrimp sauce, sweet potatoe & crisp steamed veggies on the side. Dad enjoyed his blackened grouper (a over-fished delight which is getting harder to come by & more expensive.) No "fake" grouper substitutions here, just the real thing. A member of our party swears by the escargot, which he always finds delicious, garlicy, with buttery juices, presented in individual little "wells" of a special plate to reserve the juice. Hubby's seafood platter was abundant, crispy, non-greasy with individual flavors.

Be sure to order the sweet potatoes! Whether you like them with butter & brown sugar (you can have it on the side if you like) or just plain. They are so much more flavorful as a rare accompaniment to food up North. There is just something about the sweet potatoes down here-- they really are naturally sweet.... Dinner for 6 before 5:30, including 2 drinks was only $110 w/o tip.

Everything was so good, we returned 2 weeks later. Our server, this time, was Jimmy or "J Rae," a veteran. On a busy night (it's always busy) he was very prompt and patient with my father (who is hard of hearing) and was very available without hovering. This time Dad & I had the crispy Grouper, and hubby had the Coconut shrimp. All were excellent & so filing (despite the 1/2 plate order) that we had no room for dessert.

We have to say, we really enjoyed this restaurant & will go again before we return in March. Thumbs up for Prawnbrokers!

  • Visited February 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbia, South Carolina
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“great seafood”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2012

everything was great. the atmosphere, the service, and especially the food. i ordered stuffed shrimp. it was large shrimp struffed with crab meat and a blue chees sauce. fantastic! it would be wise to make reservations.

  • Visited February 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Prawnbroker Restaurant and Fish Market also viewed

Fort Myers, Southwest Gulf Coast
Fort Myers, Southwest Gulf Coast
 
Fort Myers, Southwest Gulf Coast
Fort Myers, Southwest Gulf Coast
 

Been to Prawnbroker Restaurant and Fish Market? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Prawnbroker Restaurant and Fish Market, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.