We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Desert rightly described as "sex on a spoon." Hard to find, nice place.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Kenwood Lane Grille

Kenwood Lane Grille
12791 Kenwood Lane, Ste B1, Fort Myers, FL 33907-5657
+1 239-728-5400
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #11 of 654 Restaurants in Fort Myers
Price range: $15 - $30
Cuisines: American, Continental, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Romance, Large groups, Doing business, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Entertaining clients, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Takeout, Late Night
Description: Lunch & Dinner, last seating at 8:00, Casual decor, Some outside seating, Beer & Wine
Fort Myers, Florida
Top Contributor
127 reviews 127 reviews
67 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
“Desert rightly described as "sex on a spoon." Hard to find, nice place.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2013

This must be one of the most out-of-the-way restaurants in Fort Myers. We enjoyed the Goulash, the soups and bread. All quite good. The location is almost comically hard to find- even sitting in front of the restaurant you might miss it. Look behind Office Depot off Kenwood lane. That is the road with the garish illuminated sign one short block west of 41 off College.

The desert cake was really excellent. Ask about "sex on a spoon." Expect some chuckles.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

294 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    226
    42
    14
    5
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Fort Myers, Florida
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
“Friendly, Cafe-Like Restaurant”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2013

Have had lunch here twice in the last year. The atmosphere is comfortable and the wait staff is very friendly if not a bit loud. We were made to feel like an invited guest to a big sporting event on TV. The menu is somewhat limited with a few interesting items paired with some interesting side dishes. Both times I had a sandwich that was good but not memorable, once with an order of average French onion soup which used basic Swiss cheese instead of Gruyere and often had to wait for my water glass to be refilled. This is not a gourmet restaurant and I find many of the reviews overly generous. However, I suspect the friendly service and genuine feeling that they really are glad you are here makes for a fine impression. This place is worth a visit, just don't think you are going to a destination restaurant for gourmet food. No, go for the better than average food and friendly service where they treat you like family.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jsbutterfield, Owner at Kenwood Lane Grille, responded to this review, July 2, 2013
Kenwood Lane Grille thanks you for your overview of our restaurant. We appreciate everyone’s opinion including Jean LeBoeuf, Food Critic of The News-Press who just recently recognized us as one of ‘Five Places For A Serious Sandwich’ in Lee County. (May 17, 2013)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Myers, Florida
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Great Fresh Food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2013

All the food is cooked fresh. Great service. Location is behind Office Depot on College Parkway. Reasonable prices. We go for lunch and never have to wait.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Myers, Florida
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Good things come in a small package !”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2013

Great food & service. A family run place with scratch made food and personal service. You'll find a wide variety of choices, one better than the next. Gourmet meals at a reasonable cost. Can't say more than excellent.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Coral, Florida
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Superb food!! you could die happy”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2013

Noise level was a zero - how nice to actually be able to converse with your friends!! I'll take that any day of the week compared to these over priced fancy restaurants where all the servers are buzzing around and I can't even hear the person next to me. Our server was attentive, and the overall service was excellent. They offered 3 soup choices and herb infused biscuits to die for. Our entrees were superb especially the salmon and pork chops. The only two drawbacks ( for some diners) would be while they had a nice wine list and beer, they did not serve mixed drinks which I thought odd. Also the kitchen closed early 8pm on the Friday night we were dining. All in all the six of us would go back there again for the food and atmosphere.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jsbutterfield, Owner at Kenwood Lane Grille, responded to this review, July 13, 2013
Why thank you Sandy it is always nice to hear that people enjoy our restaurant. Yes it is unfortunate that we do not fit the State of Florida’s criteria to be able to offer a full bar and so we must abide by their guidelines and only provide beer and wine. Yes, our kitchen does take its last order at 8:00 PM. Our Chef is here at 9 AM, baking bread, handcrafting lunch meat, grounding burgers, soups, sauces, etc. So we quietly lock our doors at 8 and everyone inside stays until they’re ready to leave. Most people don’t even notice it’s been done until they reach for the front doorknob. Remember lunch; Monday thru Friday; 11 – 2 and dinner Tuesday thru Saturday 5 – 8.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Kenwood Lane Grille also viewed

Fort Myers, Southwest Gulf Coast
Fort Myers, Southwest Gulf Coast
 
Fort Myers, Southwest Gulf Coast
Fort Myers, Southwest Gulf Coast
 

Been to Kenwood Lane Grille? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kenwood Lane Grille, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.