We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely restaurant” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Veranda

The Veranda
2122 2nd St, At Broadway, Fort Myers, FL 33901-3013
+1 239-332-2065
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #13 of 658 Restaurants in Fort Myers
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $0 - $40
Cuisines: American, Bar, Seafood, International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Doing business, Special occasions
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations
Description: Nestled in the heart of historic downtown Fort Myers. The Veranda will take you away from the hustle & bustle of everyday life to a bygone era of Antebellum charm. The Veranda's romantic setting in two turn-of-the-century homes, combined with our Southern Regional Cuisine, an extensive wine list, and first class service staff will provide you with the most unique dining experience in Southwest Florida. Celebrating our 35th year in business, The Veranda is consistently honored as one of the most award-winning restaurants in the area. Join us and experience the romance, the history and the charm that is the Veranda!
Fort Myers, Florida
Level Contributor
30 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Lovely restaurant”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2013 via mobile

Always a nice place for a special occasion. The menu is varied, but nothing for a vegetarian, as everything is sometime of meat, or seafood. If you are on a low or reduced sodium diet, this might be the place for you, as typical in southern cuisine, it's very salty. I ordered the onion soup, but couldn't finish it, as it was very salty, (I think they use bullion cubes instead of the natural meat drippings). Also, I'd recommend you get the salad dressing on the side. Overall, the wine selection is good either by the glass or bottle.


Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

444 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    288
    94
    27
    22
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Saint Augustine, Florida
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Only 5 star place in area”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2013

O. M. G. I'm very much of a Chicago foodie and this place could hold its own with any big city restaurant. The Southern Grit Cakes with pepper Jack cheese & Andouille sausage were an amazing app. Bread is served with a red pepper jelly that sounded scary but was out of this world good. If you can sit outside - the setting is beyond beautiful.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Coral, Florida
Level Contributor
52 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Top shelf dining”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2013

My wife took me here for my Birthday - it's a real treat to dine here. Great service, menu, drinks and desserts in a pleasant atmosphere - but expect to pay premium prices. Valet parking is free but don't forget to tip the attendant.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southwest Gulf Coast, Florida
Level Contributor
37 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Old World Charm!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2013

We had lunch at this lovely place. Don't forget to read the interesting history on the menu. Our table was next to the windows facing the patio. The service was excellent and the food fresh and well presented. I had the Veranda Carpetbagger sandwich and my husband had the Quilted Chicken and both were delicious. We shared a shrimp cocktail to start and the big tasty gulf shrimp were perfect! For dessert we shared the 'triple layered chocolate pate' which was rich and wonderful. We enjoyed everything including the special table bread. We've just moved to Fort Myers and we will dine at The Veranda again.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lehigh Acres, Florida
Level Contributor
104 reviews
98 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Very special place for a special occasion”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2013

I give this restaurant 5 stars across the board. I went there with my wife on our 25th anniversary May 15th 2013. I made reservations a month in advance. I had the roast rack of lamb, outstanding. My wife had salmon, she loved it. The wine selection is one of the best in the area, the desserts over the top. The atmosphere is very quaint and warm. Although not inexpensive, it is worth the price, my favorite special occasion in this area.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Veranda also viewed

Fort Myers, Southwest Gulf Coast
Fort Myers, Southwest Gulf Coast
 
Fort Myers, Southwest Gulf Coast
Fort Myers, Southwest Gulf Coast
 

Been to The Veranda? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Veranda, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.