We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Food's not hot, Lacks atmosphere” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Buca di Beppo

Buca di Beppo
4125 Cleveland Ave, Edison Mall, Fort Myers, FL 33901
+1 239-332-0957
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #151 of 674 Restaurants in Fort Myers
Price range: $15 - $30
Cuisines: Italian, Vegetarian, Pasta, Family Fare
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Large groups
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: Edison Mall
Description: Buca di Beppo serves authentic Italian cuisine in an eclectic, vintage setting. Our dishes are served family-style, meant to be shared by everyone at the table. Two sizes are available: BUCA SMALL feeds two or more and BUCA LARGE feeds four or more. At Buca, guests delight in our lively atmosphere, enjoy the classic tunes of Frank Sinatra and Dean Martin and admire our decor, including family photos and candid shots of Italian-American icons, such as Sophia Loren and Joe DiMaggio. Our energetic atmosphere, delicious food and friendly staff make Buca di Beppo the perfect place for great Italian food and fun.
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Food's not hot, Lacks atmosphere”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

The $8 mozzarella garlic bread skimped on the cheese and didn't come with a side of marinara for dipping. We ordered the marinara but by the time it came, the bread was cold. The $19 eggplant parmesan wasn't hot either and didn't come with spaghetti.

The atmosphere was too brightly lit and too quiet, and the some of the pictures hung on the walls drew attention to women's breasts in a way that made me uncomfortable.

The best part was that the server covered for the absent hostess and got us seated quickly. The worst part was that the people at the next table were loud and rude, to the point of approaching us at our table and later talking about us loudly at their table. We couldn't leave fast enough.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bucalove, Guest Relations Manager at Buca di Beppo, responded to this review, August 2, 2013
Please accept our apologies for your experience. We have forwarded the information to management and would love to have someone reach out to you. Could you email us your contact information to mamacares@bucainc.com? Please make sure to include the date and location of your complaint in your e-mail. We always appreciate opportunities to better serve our guests. Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

42 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    20
    8
    7
    5
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Different from the rest”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013 via mobile

I enjoyed the fact the restaurant is divided into about 5 separate themed dining rooms rather than one large open room. The waiter and the manager could not have been more helpful. Unlike most places today one could tell the waiter had actually been trained.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntingdon, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Stuffed shells and Italian Creme Cake were amazing”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2013

As we're the Mozzerella Caprese and the Brushetta! The service was fantastic. Great meal, great service, fun atmosphere. Definitely an awesome Bucca!

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Fun place with good food!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2013

We had a wonderful meal at this restaurant last night. Our server Elisabeth did a wonderful job making us feel at home and explaining how they serve family style. We started with some garlic bread and a carafe of sangria. We all shared some eggplant parm and an order of the largest meatball I ever saw! It was all very good! Took home my desert of cannolis. The manager who told us he just moved up to this location was very proactive and made numerous visits to make sure we enjoyed our meal. We will be back!!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Very average”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013 via mobile

Big plates of food. We did the tour it was cold. What was nice was that they brought us a plat for 4 people when we ordered the plate for 2. Ordered side meatball it was tasty but cold. The dessert didn't live up to the size. It's a family dinning style restaurant big plates that r ment to share. The server was nice & friendly.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Buca di Beppo also viewed

Fort Myers, Southwest Gulf Coast
Fort Myers, Southwest Gulf Coast
 
Fort Myers, Southwest Gulf Coast
Fort Myers, Southwest Gulf Coast
 

Been to Buca di Beppo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Buca di Beppo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.