We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent!!!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Fancy's Southern Cafe

Fancy's Southern Cafe
8890 Salrose Lane, Fort Myers, FL
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #64 of 649 restaurants in Fort Myers
Cuisines: American
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Fort Myers, Florida
1 review
“Excellent!!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2012

This is our sixth visit to Fancy's and they are great - consistent - and match wines with meals to perfection. Tonight 12 of us went to dinner - everything was superb and the service was fabulous. Could not have asked for a beter evening!!!!!!! Crab cakes - filet - chicken - ribs - frog legs... were all wonderful! Top quality all around

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

123 reviews from our community

82% Recommend
    56
    45
    12
    7
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Fort Myers, Florida
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Great independent southern home cooking in Fort Myers”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012 via mobile

Dined here for the first time last week because of a friends recommendation. I loved everything about it. It's small but has a open kitchen and a kwirky decor that I thought was great. The menu is compact but has a great range giving you many different entree options. I tried the signature chicken and waffles and all I can say is yum!! I wasn't sure if I was eating breakfast, dinner or dessert but loved each bite while I was trying to decide. The others in my party also enjoyed their meals as well. They don't have a full liquor bar but it was fine with me since I'm a beer and wine guy and both of these optilns hac great value. I can't wait to go back! Well done chef!!

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake Placid, Florida
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
73 helpful votes 73 helpful votes
“Great southern food in an out of the way location.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012

We had lunch at Fancy's and all five of us tried a different menu item. The chicken and waffles was delicious, with a large boneless chicken breast fried to perfection and a caramel syrup that really enhanced the flavor. The chicken pot pie was large enough for sharing, and the country fried steak was a big hit as well. All of the menu items fit the comfort food bill. The atmosphere is country rustic without being tacky, with reclaimed wood used throughout. This place has only been open a short time. I believe it will develop quite a following.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Myers, Florida
Top Contributor
190 reviews 190 reviews
94 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 74 cities Reviews in 74 cities
124 helpful votes 124 helpful votes
“A great new spot in Fort Myers!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2012 via mobile

Had to try this place out. Went for lunch. Awesome little place with cool decor. Food was outstanding! Went back 2 days later...

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
70 helpful votes 70 helpful votes
“WOW”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2012

Stumbled in to this new little gem, hidden for sure and well worth the trip.

Apparently just opened in the last few weeks and the food and service were amazing.

A true southern food stop. Fried Okra, Fried Green Tomatoes, Chicken and Waffles etc.

Everyone enjoyed the food and the owner was present in the dining room and talking with guests.

If you have a reason to be the area, take the time to go find it.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Fancy's Southern Cafe also viewed

Fort Myers, Southwest Gulf Coast
Fort Myers, Southwest Gulf Coast
 
Fort Myers, Southwest Gulf Coast
Fort Myers, Southwest Gulf Coast
 

Been to Fancy's Southern Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fancy's Southern Cafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.