We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Authentic family style Mexican food!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of La Fogata

La Fogata
19440 S Tamiami Trail, Fort Myers, FL
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #98 of 673 Restaurants in Fort Myers
Cuisines: Mexican
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Fort Myers, Florida
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Authentic family style Mexican food!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

Super friendly staff & service. Authentic homemade Mexican food! Don't expect Tex-Mex or Americanized food. Interesting menu! Great value! We would come back again.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

37 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    23
    8
    2
    4
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Fort Myers, Florida
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“The Locals Eat Here......”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2013

Had an early dinner on an week night and got a table right away. All of the other patrons were Hispanic families. If the locals patronize a restaurant, it usually is an excellent value. Our server was prompt and polite. We were served tortilla chips and three very authentic salsas. Food service was a bit slow, but worth it. I ordered the Three Taco entree and tried different fillings: Adobado (pork marinated in a mild red chile sauce that may include pineapple), Chuleta de Puerco (pork chop), and Cecina (steak). I believe the tortillas were made at the La Fogata. All were excellent. The other diner had Enchiladas in a green sauce that was a bit tart, but very good. Having lived in the Chicago area for years, I well educated on Mexican cuisine. La Fogata did an excellent job. We will be back on a very regular basis!

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Armonk, New York
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“really well done and authentic”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2013

truly the best in ft myers.had marvelous well priced valentine day special table. d'hote guacamole is chunky freshly prepared and fab. good home cooking,very clean,good service

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
US
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Best Mexican in Florida!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 24, 2012

The new location is 16440 S. Tamiami Trail, in Fort Myers, FL. This Mexican restaurant is amazing. We lived in Texas for 20 years and we know our Mexican food, This stands out above all the rest. The atmosphere is simple, the family running it are all so nice and friendly and they can really cook! We absolutely LOVE this place. If you like Mexican food, don't miss a trip to La Fogata. We search high and low for the best Meican food, and this is the best we have found.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
152 reviews 152 reviews
126 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 56 cities Reviews in 56 cities
70 helpful votes 70 helpful votes
“BEST MEXICAN RESTAURANT IN THE COUNTY”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2012

This is not a new restaurant, but it has merely moved to a new and better location. This place is 100% authentic and provides excellent Mexican food. I had the best nachos I've ever had here. My wife had the chuleta de puerco (pork chop) with rice & beans. It was excellent.

Great place.

Food - 5 STARS
Location - 4 STARS
Service - 5 STARS
Ambiance/Decor - 4 STARS
Value - 4 STARS

  • Visited December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Fogata also viewed

Fort Myers, Southwest Gulf Coast
Fort Myers, Southwest Gulf Coast
 
Fort Myers, Southwest Gulf Coast
Fort Myers, Southwest Gulf Coast
 

Been to La Fogata? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Fogata, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.