We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice meal...Look for Maria soon at her other location” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Maria's Old Florida Restaurant

Maria's Old Florida Restaurant
17979 San Carlos Boulevard, Fort Myers, FL 33931
239 433 2491
Improve this listing
Ranked #122 of 644 restaurants in Fort Myers
Cuisines: Seafood
Restaurant details
Wisconsin
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Nice meal...Look for Maria soon at her other location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

Based on trip advisor reviews, we stopped for a late lunch. No waiting today; there were two other parties seated when we arrived. The bowl of gumbo was huge and tasty and hot. My husband had the fisherman's platter of Fiedler seafood...it was hot and dropsy, but a bit too salty in my opinion. I went with Salmon Duvall which was tasty, creamy and a bit spicy. The portions are generous and we both left with "doggy bags". Maria was attentive and told us she soon will be consolidating her locations, so check out Maria's Smokehouse.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

28 reviews from our community

82% Recommend
    19
    4
    2
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Memphis, TN
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
“Maybe ok but won't try again”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2013 via mobile

We were in the area so decided to give it a try. At 7 pm we were the ony ones there. We tried the seafood spheres appitizer which sounded good. It is like a hush puppy but with seafood. It came out cold in the middle. Either frozen or in the fridge and then fried but it was taken out too soon.
I had the Gumbo and the made up for the frozen spheres. It was too hot to eat. I tried to wait on it to cool down but my wife was finished with her meal and it still was not edible. I took it home for lunch the next day. A soup type dish needs better attention than just putting it on the stove and letting it boil. My wife had the crab cakes. They looked and tasted good but were served plain with no sause and only one tomato slice as garnishment.
The AC was either broken or off the day we were there so they had the doors open. Not what we expected for south Florida.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clinton, Ohio
Top Contributor
104 reviews 104 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 55 cities Reviews in 55 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
“GREAT Seafood!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2013

This is definitely some of the best seafood I've ever eaten. Maria is an amazing cook and a joy to be around. We started off with mushrooms stuffed with blue crab (very tasty.) I then had the "The Louisiana Bayou"...a steamer pan filled with dungeness crab, shrimp, andouille sausage with sweet corn-on-the-cob and new potatoes. All were steamed and seasoned to absolute perfection. My wife had a delicious shrimp scampi. This is a small unpretentious place with a wonderful owner/chef in Maria!

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Naples, FL
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Authentic, Delicious Cajun”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2013

Top-notch food that's not to be missed. But hurry - Maria is closing in April when her lease is up. Lunch times are not as crowded so the wait is not as long. If you know Cajun food you're in for a treat, if not, let Maria's be your first experience. The Ocean Harvest Fondue is highly recommended and is the perfect size for sharing. The weird decor is a strange mish-mash of plastic, purple wisteria trees, chandeliers, and fish netting. Just don't walk out. Sit down and start ordering as much of this delicious food as you can possibly eat.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salida
Top Contributor
328 reviews 328 reviews
223 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 92 cities Reviews in 92 cities
186 helpful votes 186 helpful votes
“Maria's Passion is Amazing!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2013

Try the Cajun! Delicious! Her passion is all over this place. Great meal! Great Service! The gumbo is delicious, have her award winners you won't be disappointed.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Maria's Old Florida Restaurant also viewed

Fort Myers, Southwest Gulf Coast
Fort Myers, Southwest Gulf Coast
 
Fort Myers, Southwest Gulf Coast
Fort Myers, Southwest Gulf Coast
 

Been to Maria's Old Florida Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Maria's Old Florida Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.