We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Have patience, and a sense of humor. Totally worth it.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Maria's Old Florida Restaurant

Maria's Old Florida Restaurant
17979 San Carlos Boulevard, Fort Myers, FL 33931
239 433 2491
Improve this listing
Ranked #137 of 641 Restaurants in Fort Myers
Cuisines: Seafood
Restaurant details
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Have patience, and a sense of humor. Totally worth it.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2013

It doesn't look like much. And when our group of 4 walked in, we thought it was abandoned. If not for the two people at the bar who urged us not to leave, we'd have done a 180.
We seated ourselves and got our own menus. After about 20 minutes, Maria showed up to take our order. To be fair, she was two staff members short and so not in a great mood. She was surly and told us more about what she was not going to serve us. No salad. No broiling of fish.
That being said: Maria can boss me around Ll she wants if only she will feed me!
I had a crawfish étouffée that made me want to lick the plate. My husband had pan fried grouper that was delicious and fresh. Our dinner companions had a seafood steamer. Again fresh and wonderful. The gumbo was out of the world. Even the coleslaw was wonderful.
My advice: EAT HERE. And be patient. Totally worth it.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

30 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    21
    4
    2
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Minnesota
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“Great seafood!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2013

We ate here twice because it was so good! Maria will entertain you, and make an artistic sangria for you. The seafood is fresh and well-prepared. Very tasty!

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia Beach, Virginia
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Must try”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2013

Just returned from Maria's and couldn't wait to write the review. If you love real cajun cooking, this is the place for you. We had gumbo and Salmon Deval.. They were superb--full of seafood and packed with great taste. As others have reported, the looks of the restaurant are deceiving, but we really enjoyed the food and will be going back to Maria's again this week.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
upstate NY
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
“Hidden gem / The best in Ft Myers”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2013 via mobile

Simply exceptional fresh seafood, family like service, and it's so fun to go there. Maria herself is such a pleasure. The first time you go there you'll become a customer for life. Make sure to try the sangria, and anything the server or Maria recommends! This woman and her cooking (and birds) are literally my fave things about Ft Myers :)

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Catharines
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Great Seafood”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2013

We stumbled upon this restaurant which from the outside does not look very nice and the inside is not great looking but wee were blown away by the quality of the food. We both
loved the seafood platter which was fresh and perfectly cooked and very reasonably priced. we had 2 glasses of wine each which were well priced. Maria the owner was our server and told us she was closing the restaurant at the end of the season, better get there soon or u will miss a great meal.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Maria's Old Florida Restaurant also viewed

Fort Myers, Southwest Gulf Coast
Fort Myers, Southwest Gulf Coast
 
Fort Myers, Southwest Gulf Coast
 

Been to Maria's Old Florida Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Maria's Old Florida Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.