We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great seafood!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Maria's Old Florida Restaurant

Maria's Old Florida Restaurant
17979 San Carlos Boulevard, Fort Myers, FL 33931
239 433 2491
Improve this listing
Ranked #107 of 661 Restaurants in Fort Myers
Cuisines: Seafood
Restaurant details
Minnesota
Level Contributor
68 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Great seafood!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2013

We ate here twice because it was so good! Maria will entertain you, and make an artistic sangria for you. The seafood is fresh and well-prepared. Very tasty!

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

30 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    22
    4
    2
    2
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Virginia Beach, Virginia
Level Contributor
19 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Must try”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2013

Just returned from Maria's and couldn't wait to write the review. If you love real cajun cooking, this is the place for you. We had gumbo and Salmon Deval.. They were superb--full of seafood and packed with great taste. As others have reported, the looks of the restaurant are deceiving, but we really enjoyed the food and will be going back to Maria's again this week.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
upstate NY
Level Contributor
34 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Hidden gem / The best in Ft Myers”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2013 via mobile

Simply exceptional fresh seafood, family like service, and it's so fun to go there. Maria herself is such a pleasure. The first time you go there you'll become a customer for life. Make sure to try the sangria, and anything the server or Maria recommends! This woman and her cooking (and birds) are literally my fave things about Ft Myers :)

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Catharines
Level Contributor
30 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Great Seafood”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2013

We stumbled upon this restaurant which from the outside does not look very nice and the inside is not great looking but wee were blown away by the quality of the food. We both
loved the seafood platter which was fresh and perfectly cooked and very reasonably priced. we had 2 glasses of wine each which were well priced. Maria the owner was our server and told us she was closing the restaurant at the end of the season, better get there soon or u will miss a great meal.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Massachusetts
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Foodie quality meals”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2012

My husband and I just returned from our evening at Maria's. What a gem! The food quality is unparalleled. We had a bowl of gumbo that was perfectly spiced. My husband commented that it was better than that we had in New Orleans. He had the Salmon Duval and I had the Crawfish Étouffée. We each had a glass of sangria, too. While short on ambience, the food was amazing and very reasonably priced. We finished with the bread pudding, also wonderful. I hope that this restaurant gets the attention it well deserves. We will go again before returning home.

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Maria's Old Florida Restaurant also viewed

Fort Myers, Southwest Gulf Coast
Fort Myers, Southwest Gulf Coast
 
Fort Myers, Southwest Gulf Coast
Fort Myers, Southwest Gulf Coast
 

Been to Maria's Old Florida Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Maria's Old Florida Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.