We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great breakfast” 5 of 5 stars
Review of United Cafe Bar and Bistro

United Cafe Bar and Bistro
2236 First Street, Fort Myers, FL 33901
(239) 362-1831
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #35 of 651 Restaurants in Fort Myers
Cuisines: Coffee Shop, Bistro, Wine Bar
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations
New York City, New York
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Great breakfast”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

Nice breakfast menu. Bagel with tomato and basil was excellent, as was bacon. Good coffee and fruit bowl was very large and very good. Atmosphere was terrific - early breakfast with British Invasion rock in the background - what more could you want? We loved it.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

111 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    78
    20
    6
    5
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Fort Myers, Florida, United States
1 review
“coffee”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

Carmel latte is amazing. My husband and I come to this cafe often. We enjoy the selection of pasteries as well as the diferent flavor latte's. Food is the best breakfast we have found in fort myers. The staff is always striving to mkae sure our visit is exceptional.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Timonium, Maryland
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“So disappointed”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2013

Based on all of the prior reviews, we had high expectations for a delicious fresh lunch, but it was not up to the standards expressed previously. My wife got a glass of cabernet and exclaimed, "taste this, I have never had anything like this, it tastes like it is watered down." I tasted it, and indeed it lacked body, was tasteless, like watered down grape juice. The very nice waitress said that it was just opened, and offered something else. The merlot was a little better, but not much. (Note: we are not wine snobs and generally drink wines in the $10 per bottle range.) We then had the salad with shrimp and pineapple dressing. The greens, I will say, looked and tasted very fresh and the dressing was ok. The shrimp however, had a strong ammonia taste and smell to it. I couldn't eat most of mine. So good service, some of the food and drinks were unacceptable. I wouldn't go back and can't recommend it.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Myers, Florida
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Fresh”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2013

This cafe is amazing, very quaint and colorful. The staff are very comfortable and helpful :) Best cup of coffee I have ever had, always taste freshly brewed. The food is also amazing. Ranging from healthy, delicious salads to warm cottage pie on a nice cold day. I eat there often and there is always a special if you ever want to change it up. Highly recommended for good eats :D

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florence, KY
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Super food!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2013

Stopped in on 3/3/13 for lunch. Downtown was kind of crazy with streets blocked and such for a festival but United was not all that busy. We both ordered sandwiches and were very happy with the quality of the food. My husband's generous chicken wrap had very tender chicken that was full of flavor. The wrap was also grilled a bit like a panini. I really enjoyed my panini with its unusual combination of ingredients. It consisted of ham with melted brie, cranberries and Pink Lady apple and D'Anjou pear slices...very tasty. Included with our sandwiches were either a side salad of mixed greens or fried potatoes. Reasonable prices with ample portions and really good food equals a great lunch.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed United Cafe Bar and Bistro also viewed

Fort Myers, Southwest Gulf Coast
Fort Myers, Southwest Gulf Coast
 
Fort Myers, Southwest Gulf Coast
Fort Myers, Southwest Gulf Coast
 

Been to United Cafe Bar and Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage United Cafe Bar and Bistro, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

;