We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A 6 Star Food Rating!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of United Cafe Bar and Bistro

United Cafe Bar and Bistro
2236 First Street, Fort Myers, FL 33901
(239) 362-1831
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #32 of 650 Restaurants in Fort Myers
Cuisines: Coffee Shop, Bistro, Wine Bar
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations
Sanibel Island, Florida
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“A 6 Star Food Rating!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012

We stop here often for coffee or lunch. Until last week we had not tried dinner. Chef Will is amazing! The entree my husband and I had was a definite 6 star on a 5 star scale. Don't let size fool you, what came out of the kitchen was fantastic. A perfectly cooked tilapia over a red beet risotto, with a bit of arugula on top! The presentation was excellent, color was inviting, taste was incredible. The service staff work together as a team, and, your needs will be well met. Try United Cafe, your taste buds deserve it!

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

111 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    78
    20
    6
    5
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
1 review
“What an awesome breakfast!!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2012 via mobile

I have been going to United for quite some time now. I noticed that the menu is becoming more creative, the soups are better than ever, and yesterdays breakfast was absolutely amazing. My eggs were perfect, my husbands omlete was amazing, and we had a great overall dining experience. We will definitely be coming back.

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Myers, Florida
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
“Best spot in town”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2012

Love seeing the same service folks every time. The food is the best in town, the service terrific, and the location is perfect - either inside or on the sidewalk. This is a perfect spot "to watch the Ford's go by". :)

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Myers, Florida
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Good breakfast”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2012

Nice spot for a nice breakfast in the morning, you can have a pastry and read your newspaper and people watch on first street.

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Naples, Florida
Top Contributor
98 reviews 98 reviews
66 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
“Never had a bad meal here”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2012

We have eaten here maybe half a dozen times and have never once had a bad experience. The servers here have doted on us, and the owners have made certain that on the one time something came out that my son didn't care for, they fixed it immediately and offered him something they knew he would like.
They have everything here for vegetarians and meat eaters. It does not matter if you are just in the mood for a light meal or starving; you will find something here that fits the bill. I enjoy coming here during the various events downtown Fort Myers has and getting comfortable on their sofas, then moving to a table for some serious food. Even the sides that accompany the sandwiches are delicious - the dressings on the small side salads are incredible.
The interior is cozy and charming; very inviting, but the food is what makes you want to return. Even the bathrooms are decorated nicely - how's that for charm?
The problem here is that the lunch items are so delicious and we have always had our fill that we have never had a chance to order any of the pastries that are in the case in front. That's a bit of a problem, because I really want to try *something* from the pastry case.

  • Visited May 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed United Cafe Bar and Bistro also viewed

Fort Myers, Southwest Gulf Coast
Fort Myers, Southwest Gulf Coast
 
Fort Myers, Southwest Gulf Coast
Fort Myers, Southwest Gulf Coast
 

Been to United Cafe Bar and Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage United Cafe Bar and Bistro, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.