We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic day on the water!!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Gulf Coast Marine Excursions

Gulf Coast Marine Excursions
9044 Cypress Dr S, Fort Myers, FL 33967
+1 239-240-1128
Website
Improve this listing
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: Yes
Owner description: Gulf Coast Marine Excursions is a marine charter service. Our mission is to expose the natural beauty of Southwest Florida to visitors and locals alike. Offering Fishing Charters, Wildlife Tours, Shelling Trips and Island Beach Excursions. Florida has more to offer than theme parks. Book your excursion today and Discover The Real Florida.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Fantastic day on the water!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2014 via mobile

We booked a 4 hour island beach/fishing trip and had the time of our lives. We did not want to get off the boat at the end of the trip. Captain Derrick was great with our kids aged 4 & 7 ( he was laughing & joking with them) and he made us all feel at ease. He is very knowledgeable about the local area and was able to answer all our questions. Our day started with a trip to Cayo Costa Island and on the way we had dolphins jumping the wake behind the boat. The kids and ourselves were in our element and we were laughing and screaming our heads off. This made our day!!!. Once we arrived on the Island (which we had to ourselves), Captain Derrick set us up with chairs and umbrellas and then left us to enjoy a picnic and some shelling in privacy. After that we had a hour or so of light fishing and were able to catch lots of different fish. Even the kids managed to catch a few and Captain Derrick was very patient with them. On the way back we saw more dolphins and manatees. I would recommend this trip to anyone and we will definitely be booking again next time we are in town. Thank you Captain Derrick for a great day.

Visited February 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

29 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    28
    1
    0
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Fort Myers, Florida
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
73 helpful votes 73 helpful votes
“Shelling with Aloha”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2013

We did fishing sailing and the beach but on our last day we decided to try shelling, it was amazing! Captain Derrick was super awesome and taught me a ton about the Sea and islands

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bonita Springs, Florida
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Capt. Derrick is the best....Great time every time we went fishing.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2013

We have gone out with Capt. Derrick several times. Each time we caught lots of different fish. It truly is an exciting experience to fish with him.
He has a great deal of experience and knows where the fish are. The last time out we caught several nice sharks and an amazing Cobia that we still have some in the freezer.
The trip out to the fishing area was an added bonus. We saw manatee and dolphin.
Our family is going out again around Thanksgiving I can not wait.

Capt. Derrick thank you very much for always showing our family a trip to remember.

Lothar Koke
Bonita Springs,Fl

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“A great day on the water!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2013

My family of four (two teenage boys) had a great day fishing with Capt. Derrick. He was extremely knowledgeable as a fishing guide and captain; in addition to being a great guy to spend the day with. We caught trout, jacks, snapper, catfish, lizardfish, lady fish, a shark, a mackerel; saw dolphins, a couple of sets of manatees, rays, starfish, jellyfish, and had a simply great time. We will be back!

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crestwood, Kentucky
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Gulf Coast Marine Excursions Capt. Derrick Whitaker”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2013

Capt. Derrick chartered a GREAT 6-hr trip on 6-12-13 for myself and 2 sons-in-law who had never fished "inshore". We caught flounder, Spanish mackerel, trout, and redfish near Redfish Pass drifting with the am tide, N. Captiva Island mangroves, and various locales around Pine Island Sound. They were enough fish for 8 persons and 2 dinners which he filleted for us. Capt. instructed us on how best to prepare these fish and they tasted great. We also caught fish that were released because they were not as good to eat, out of season or simply under the minimum "keeper" limits. He was a good conversationalist which made the time waiting for a strike interesting. He shared his knowledge of fish habits, different tackle/bait needed with us as well. Can't choose a better Capt. and person than Capt. Whitaker!

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Gulf Coast Marine Excursions also viewed

Fort Myers, Southwest Gulf Coast
Fort Myers, Southwest Gulf Coast
 
Fort Myers, Southwest Gulf Coast
Fort Myers, Southwest Gulf Coast
 

Been to Gulf Coast Marine Excursions? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Gulf Coast Marine Excursions, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.