We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best theater around!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Florida Repertory Theatre

Florida Repertory Theatre
2267 1st Street, GPS: 2268 Bay Street, Fort Myers, FL 33901, Fort Myers, FL 33901
2393324488
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #4 of 33 Attractions in Fort Myers
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Florida Repertory Theatre performs in the Historic Arcade Theatre in the heart of the Fort Myers River District.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Best theater around!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2014

The Florida Rep should be part of your day or evening in Fort Myers. My husband and I have been attending their shows for several years and are now season subscribers. Situated near the harbor area, it affords an easy walk along the water, shops to suit many needs and dining experiences of many varieties. Spend an afternoon or spend and evening and enjoy! The real reasons are the shows. We have yet to be disappointed in a performance in this historical and intimate theater. A smaller theater in the round is also used makes every show personal. The director and performers are superb! Go Bob!

Visited April 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

117 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    87
    25
    4
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Fort Myers, Florida
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Great Place and good show....always”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2014

The Florida Rep is one of those well-hidden secrets in Fort Myers. The are nationally recognized as one of the best repertory theaters in the country and they deserve it.

Visited May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Myers, Florida, United States
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Not Broadway”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2014

What a great experience! I was asked by a friend to join her and see the play "Heartsongs". Knowing nothing about it, I was pleased to join her. I've seen many shows on Broadway, in Europe, and the wonderful "Barbara B Mann Theater". To my surprise, the show was a mix of comedy, drama, and sisterhood....
raw emotion. It's. Not ready for Broadway, but the play and actors are enchanting!! The theater is small but reminiscent of times gone by. Delightful! Can't. Wait to go again...

Visited May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Coral, Florida, USA
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
13 attraction reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
109 helpful votes 109 helpful votes
“Charming theater with stellar productions”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2014

Great downtown location in an historic building can't be beat, esp with great restaurants right there for before or after. Parking a little bit of a chore, recommend valet lot across the street. Seating comfy, temperature good too. Have seen 3 plays - one mystery, two dramas. All excellent, great casting . Very very good local theater.

Visited April 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Myers Beach, Florida
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
35 attraction reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Great little theater....”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2014

We have attended many productions in this quaint, comfortable little theater. The plays are at all times top notch and the actors are superb. Try to make at least one play while you are here. Parking is easy and have dinner in town before ... or after.

Visited April 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Florida Repertory Theatre also viewed

Fort Myers, Southwest Gulf Coast
Fort Myers, Southwest Gulf Coast
 
Fort Myers, Southwest Gulf Coast
Fort Myers, Southwest Gulf Coast
 

Been to Florida Repertory Theatre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Florida Repertory Theatre, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.