We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect for something different to do!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Seminole Gulf Railway Murder Mystery Dinner Train

Seminole Gulf Railway Murder Mystery Dinner Train
2805 Colonial Blvd, Colonial Station, Fort Myers, FL 33916
239-275-8487
Website
Improve this listing
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Activities: Group tours/train, Dining
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The Murder Mystery Dinner Train (owned and operated by Seminole Gulf Railway) offers a Unique Dining Experience where passengers enjoy our table side Murder Mystery Show and a Nostalgic Train Trip as our On-board Chef prepares a delicious Five Course Dinner. The train seats up to 200 people and operates year round, Wednesday through Sunday, and holds special holiday events, like a Sweetheart Express for Valentine’s Day, a New Year’s Eve Gala, two traditional New England style Thanksgiving dinners, and Halloween Ghost Trains. The Murder Mystery Dinner Train also offers hotel Get-Away packages with special rates available only through the railroad.
Delray Beach, Florida
1 review
“Perfect for something different to do!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2014

We went to celebrate a birthday and it was a fun time. You board the train and if you're a party of two you essentially get paired with another party of two (I was excited about meeting another couple) but our partners didnt show. The acting/mystery part was entertaining. Silly and funny acting but we laughed the whole time. The meal was subpar. We are vegetarians and they dont provide a vegetarian meal option so we ate around the meat, but we heard the meat was good from people around us. The only thing I'd really "complain" about was the train ride wasnt smooth. It rocked enough to give me motion sickness...which isnt a huge deal but If I had known prior, I wouldve taken medicine.

Visited March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

317 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    141
    104
    34
    20
    18
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Fort Myers Beach, Florida
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
33 attraction reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
“It was awesome”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2014

We used to go when it was just a dinner train but then they turned into a theater train and it is really fun. If there is only 2 of you, you will share a table with another couple. The food is top notch for a train.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Myers, Florida
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“GREAT EVENING”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2014

it was a celebration for us everything was just great food was excellent and service was above and beyond.....loved the whole evening

Visited March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Memphis
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
26 attraction reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“A fun and different dinner”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2014

On vacation with two 12-year-old girls, I took a big chance: they would either love this, or hate it. Well, they loved it! They got into listening to the actors to collect clues that would help them solve the mystery. Each time the actors exited, the girls immediately started comparing notes and sifting through the dialogue for clues.
OK, so it's kinda cheesy...actors play out a silly plot in between food courses, and it's all dialogue, no action (the actors simply stand in the aisle down the center of the train car). But the food is really (unexpectedly) good, there's a full bar, the wait staff is friendly and efficient, and..hey, how often these days do you get to have a 5-course meal on a moving train?
I only wish the view from the train was better; the first half is mostly industrial landscape, and the trip back was entirely in the dark. But all in all, it's an experience that's well worth the time and the cost.

Visited March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Myers, Florida
2 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“not worth the money”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2014

My wife and I took the train ride with four friends, the actors went from car to car performing act one in each car, then started back in the first car for act two, as you can imagine there was a long gap between each act, overall the performance was slow, and the jokes very old. The train rocked from side to side in the dark making the 4 hour trip far to long, the Prime rib dinner was good however, depending on how far you sat from the kitchen the meal may not be hot when it reached your table, the final cost for two including two drinks each and gratuity was over two hundred dollars, we had fun because of our friends. The train ride and murder mystery was a disaster.

Visited February 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Seminole Gulf Railway Murder Mystery Dinner Train also viewed

Fort Myers, Southwest Gulf Coast
Fort Myers, Southwest Gulf Coast
 
Fort Myers, Southwest Gulf Coast
Fort Myers, Southwest Gulf Coast
 

Been to Seminole Gulf Railway Murder Mystery Dinner Train? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Seminole Gulf Railway Murder Mystery Dinner Train, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.