We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food” 4 of 5 stars
Review of El Gaucho Inca

El Gaucho Inca
4383 Colonial Blvd, Fort Myers, FL
239-275-7504
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #53 of 649 restaurants in Fort Myers
Price range: $10 - $20
Cuisines: Argentinean, Italian, South American
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Wellington, Florida
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2013

We went here for lunch on a Sunday. Food was great (ordered the mixto cerviche and mussels del vino) which came out reasonably fast.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

114 reviews from our community

84% Recommend
    67
    29
    8
    5
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
usa
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Something different in fort myers”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2013

Hen cime to Elhave Gaucho Inca, a ArgenIf you want to try something different tonight, this is A Argentinian and Peruvian Restaraunt, good Argentinian steaksband meats, and very good Peruvian Cerviche, great atmosphere,the moved in same strip mall, but totally redesigned, classy, elegant, great staff, great music, worth the visit, and verry affordable, and great portions

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Coral, Florida
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“Marvelous, different, cuisine!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

El Gaucho Inca had been on our short list for a long time, but we never made it to their previous, smaller, location: it seemed like a long drive from Cape Coral... We finally made the trip to the new venue, and that twenty yards closer seems to make all the difference!

What a great place: spacious, attractive, with extensive wall decorations of all sorts related to Peru and Argentina. We were warmly welcomed by the hostess, and our waitress on both occasions, Dainely, was personable, helpful, and, well, perfect. She took the time to explain what the different dishes are and how they are prepared, which is not always the case in ethnic restaurants, and stopped by frequently after serving us to see whether we were pleased with our food. The restaurant opens at 12, and was busy, though not overly so, throughout the lunch hour; several people came by to pick up take-out.

The food is amazing. Every table evidently gets a bowl of large Andean corn kernels and a bowl of huacatay sauce, a delicious sauce made with an herb related to mint but that tastes more like dill to me; dip the kernels in the sauce? pour the sauce on the kernels, as Dainely suggested? The former is sort of messy, the latter, to then be eaten by fork, seems odd as a shareable... in any event, yummy. First time we went we ordered off of the very interesting Lunch menu: I had the pollo saltado, a Peruvian take on stir-fried chicken, delicious; and my husband had the aji de gallina, shredded chicken in an indescribable yellow cream sauce with potatoes; he found it fascinating but a little bland (though described as spicy). Second time we shared the shrimp in garlic sauce from the appetizer menu, perfectly cooked and oddly not too garlicky, followed by the tiras de asado, beautifully grilled beef ribs served with chimichurri sauce and very good French fries. This was a very tasty but somewhat fatty dish, as might be expected. Desserts sound wonderful, but we only had room for two cups of their excellent expresso.

Our only reservation, and the reason we withheld the fifth star, is that the food is served on cold plates: any chef should know to plate on hot china (although far too many don't do it), but it is positively a sin to serve gorgeous grilled meats (not only different cuts of beef but sausage, tripe, & sweetbreads) on cold plates!

We can't wait to go back and try other things, the black mussels ("chorros") for one, and more of the grilled meats from the Argentinean menu...

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Coral, Florida
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“South American and Italian cuisine done well”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2013

Wow! We made it a point to try it at lunch time recently and now we look forward to dinner there, The decor and menu are both interesting, and choices are affordable. We have never had such good gnocchi before!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Naples, FL
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Stop eating at the chains and try this!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2013

I am a proponent of supporting locally owned restaurants, and this one should definitely be on everyone's list. The new location is bigger and better (don't worry, it's in the same strip only a different suite), and they have obviously worked very hard to establish the reputation that they have. Every dish is made with such great care and the flavors are like nothing else you can find. Stop going to places like Applebees, live a little, and try this place. You will not be sorry.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed El Gaucho Inca also viewed

Fort Myers, Southwest Gulf Coast
Fort Myers, Southwest Gulf Coast
 
Fort Myers, Southwest Gulf Coast
Fort Myers, Southwest Gulf Coast
 
Fort Myers, Southwest Gulf Coast
Fort Myers, Southwest Gulf Coast
 
Fort Myers, Southwest Gulf Coast
Fort Myers, Southwest Gulf Coast
 
Fort Myers, Southwest Gulf Coast

Been to El Gaucho Inca? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage El Gaucho Inca, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.