We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best spanakopita EVER!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of OPA Mediterranean Gourmet

OPA Mediterranean Gourmet
2950 Winkler Ave.,# 201, Fort Myers, FL
Improve this listing
Ranked #294 of 673 Restaurants in Fort Myers
Cuisines: Greek
Restaurant details
Punta Gorda
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Best spanakopita EVER!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2013

Have eaten here many times as I used to work near-by and would shoot over for an inexpensive, yet healthy and delicious lunch. It's been a while, so stopped in today (no longer work in that area) and had my usual spanakopita and Greek salad and OMG... the spanakopita (spinach pie) was the BEST I've ever tasted! Just melted in my mouth! Salad was o.k., but could use more dressing and onions, but great for my diet! For lunch, the place was packed and I'm glad to see them doing a lot of business so they'll be around for a long, long time. This is a little place tucked into a strip mall next door to Subway. Skip the Subway and try Opa! Friendly service and home-cooked food that is yummy.... what more could you want?!

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

21 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    10
    5
    4
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Peoria, Illinois
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Great surprise a stripmall!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2013

This Lebanese / Greek restaurant we noticed while driving by peeked our interest. On our first visit we ordered the $6.99 special Lamb/beef gyros (homemade pita) with fries for me and Greek salad (with an upcharge) for my wife and refillable drinks. We were very impressed with the quality, quantity, authenticity, and service at OPA. In less than a week we were back with a friend and tried the chicken souvlaki special. They also offer many other Greek and Lebanese specialties, including vegetarian and desert dishes and a variety of drinks. In 3 weeks we've intro'd 3 friends to this restaurant, and all enjoyed their dinners. Place orders at the register and wait for the freshly cooked to be delivered to one's table. Tips are not necessary. We're happy to have found this mediterranean experience.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacksonville, Florida
Top Contributor
115 reviews 115 reviews
88 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
“Diamond of a find”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2012

I had been craving cuisine from the Mediterranean for a while and found Opa. They offer what you might expect: falafel, hummus, gyros, grape leaves, and baklava. What you might not expect is that everything is made by hand. Also, for service the food is brought out pretty much after you order from the counter and before you sit down, and this with the place packed. My wife ordered the lemon rice to go for her dinner later on. They have a lentil chicken stew with yoghurt that will definitely be on the wish list for next time.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Petersburg, FL
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Not all I'd hoped from previous reviews.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2012 via mobile

This is a cute little place, but do not order the felafel sandwich. I've ordered felafel all over the world and this was probably the most disappointing. I'm not sure if it was the pickles, the sauce or the felafel itself, but there was a fishy aftertaste. I tried just eating the felafel separate from the sandwich but the taste remained.
The Greek salad was fresh and quite good.

    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Myers, Florida
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Very nice for a first time visit”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2012 via mobile

I asked my husband if we could try Opa as I would go into the Subway next door and never gave it a thought. But this time I wanted more than a sandwich. This was lunch and dinner for me. The last time we had tried Greek food we were very disappointed and i wanted to give it a chance. The gentleman who took our order was very nice in explaining some of the menu items. You have the choice to-go or dine in. We dined in. The place was empty since it was after 5 pm. I ordered a gyro w/ fries and my husband the caprese salad. We were very happy w/ our choices. We will come back again to try more of their menu.

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed OPA Mediterranean Gourmet also viewed

Fort Myers, Southwest Gulf Coast
Fort Myers, Southwest Gulf Coast
 
Fort Myers, Southwest Gulf Coast
Fort Myers, Southwest Gulf Coast
 

Been to OPA Mediterranean Gourmet? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage OPA Mediterranean Gourmet, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.