We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Royal palms frame the street” 3 of 5 stars
Review of McGregor Boulevard

McGregor Boulevard
Fort Myers, FL
Improve this listing
Ranked #11 of 33 Attractions in Fort Myers
Type: Landmarks/ Points of Interest, Landmarks
Attraction details
Pittsboro, North Carolina
Top Contributor
119 reviews 119 reviews
30 attraction reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
70 helpful votes 70 helpful votes
“Royal palms frame the street”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2012

A mix of some rather run down areas, old homes, McMansions. Pick a side street in the area to see some of the old Florida tropical style.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

162 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    95
    48
    17
    2
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
brooklyn, NY
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
38 attraction reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
“Pleasant drive”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2012

Nice palm-lined drive with some pretty older homes. A number of stops can be made, such as the Edison/Ford winter estates and downtown.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
13 attraction reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Great Drive to Capture the Essence of Ft. Myers”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012 via mobile

Drive from one end to ther other. From charming brick streets in downtown that remind you of Old Florida to the newer subdivisions full of snow birds. In between are charming historic bungalows, mid-century modern ranches, and majestic Palm trees.

And a don't miss stop along the way are the adjoining historic Edison and Ford estates on the banks of a wide river.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ft. Myers
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
10 attraction reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Scenic from end to end.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2012

I cycle most everywhere and make McGregor Blvd the staple of my travels, even if it means extending my ride. Scenic views, landscaping, homes, etc. Plus a constant uninterrupted flow of sidewalks on the west side of the street. A main N-S thoroughfare in Ft.Myers is the most beautiful and often easiest travel, even by car.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Coral, Florida, United States
Top Contributor
118 reviews 118 reviews
21 attraction reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
“The picture of the south.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012

The first time I saw McGregor Boulevard I was in Jr. High School. That was many years ago. Now that I live in this area I still look at it the same way… it IS the south, Ft. Myers, palm trees and all things tropical rolled into one.
The only difference I see now is the cars are different. Palm trees that look like they are coated with concrete still line the street. They look very majestic and always remind me of the Edison/Ford estate that lies on the river side of the boulevard. If you live here you know what I am talking about. If you are a visitor it is a must see. If you have never been in the south it will be as big a surprise as it was for me as a child.
Enjoy the sight.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed McGregor Boulevard also viewed

Fort Myers, Southwest Gulf Coast
Fort Myers, Southwest Gulf Coast
 
Fort Myers, Southwest Gulf Coast
Fort Myers, Southwest Gulf Coast
 

Been to McGregor Boulevard? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage McGregor Boulevard, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.