We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“As a local. this is one of the "central locations" in Ft. Myers.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of McGregor Boulevard

McGregor Boulevard
Fort Myers, FL
Improve this listing
Ranked #14 of 101 things to do in Fort Myers
Attraction details
Springfield, MO
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“As a local. this is one of the "central locations" in Ft. Myers.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2012

Lined with foxtail palms and the like, McGregor is a pretty street but also a main artery for the area. As a local, I enjoy cruising McGregor after a day at Ft. Myers Beach or for dinner coming from Cape Coral. Aside from the Edison stuff, McGregor has a number of nice road-side restaurants that are a nice stop: Cristofs, Lazy Flamingo, and McGregor Cafe, I have eaten at them all and they are great.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

191 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    106
    59
    23
    2
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Fort Myers, FL
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Most beautiful street.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2012

I drive down McGregor Blvd. at least five times a month. The royal palm trees are absolutely beautiful, and very natural. Some were planted by Thomas Edison. As a tree dies, the city of Fort Myers replaces it. There are some restaurants near the downtown area that are great - especially The Edison Restaurant - great spot.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Queens, NY
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
11 attraction reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Beautiful drive!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2012

We travelled this road on our way to many attractions in and around Fort Meyers...it is so serene, watching the beautiful palm trees go by....

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gulf Coast, FL
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Please don't go 15-20 mph in the winter!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2012

I live near McGregor Blvd. and I have to say I agree with FL Nomad, if you want pictures, pull off onto a side road and walk. I can't tell you how frustrating it is to us that live here year round to have a car from Indiana, Michigan, Ohio, Canada, etc. going 15 to 20 miles per hour during the height of the winter season, and usually at rush hour (4:30 to 6pm). We have to live here, commute, get to work, pick up the kids. The speed limit is 35 to 45, keep up with the limit or cruise it on Sunday morming, thank you!

Visited December 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Myers, Florida
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
24 attraction reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Step back in time”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2012

Driving down McGregor Boulevard, you can picture what it must have been like in the early 1900s. Stop in the Edison/Ford Estates and learn how this street got it's name. There are wonderful houses on either side of the boulevard. McGregor is lined with Royal Palm trees that give a stately air to the view. The Caloosahatchee river runs parallel to McGregor too, so peek in between the homes and you can see the water. There are a few nice restaurants & cafes to pop in and enjoy. Check out the Edison or McGregor Cafe.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed McGregor Boulevard also viewed

Fort Myers, Southwest Gulf Coast
Fort Myers, Southwest Gulf Coast
 
Fort Myers, Southwest Gulf Coast
Fort Myers, Southwest Gulf Coast
 

Been to McGregor Boulevard? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage McGregor Boulevard, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.