We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful restaurant & very fresh fish” 5 of 5 stars
Review of DaRuMa

DaRuMa
13499 South Cleveland Ave., Bell Tower Shops, Fort Myers, FL 33907
(239) 344-0037
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #176 of 641 Restaurants in Fort Myers
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: Asian
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Fort Myers Beach, Florida
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Beautiful restaurant & very fresh fish”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2012

Went here for the first time last weekend and had an all-around wonderful experience. A lot of thought and work went into the design of this establishment. It simultaneously feels cozy and upscale with beautiful, authentic details and a romantic atmosphere. We tried a variety of sushi, one specialty roll, and a house specialty appetizer: Escargot Nippon. Snails Japanese-style were a first for me and I was absolutely delighted. Sushi is my forte and I try new places all the time. That being said, in my mind this place has jumped to the number one spot for sushi restaurants in the surrounding area! The fish was extremely fresh, the slices were generous, and the roll was creatively executed with well-balanced flavors and textures. Prices were fair. Great sake and martini specials. We sat at the sushi bar.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

127 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    47
    38
    21
    17
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Fort Myers Beach, Florida
Top Contributor
93 reviews 93 reviews
65 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
“Serendipitous”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2012

I am hard to please when it comes to sushi and I LOVED the quality and service at Daruma. The presentation was ok, not great but the freshness and flavor of everything was amazing. I started with thee nipon escargot which was prepared in a way I've never experienced and it was wonderful. I also had a sexy roll that by appearance was overloaded but had balanced taste flavor that didn't overpower the fish. I also had assorted sushi pieces that were simply excellent. This is definitely my new, favorite sushi restaurant :-)

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Myers, Florida
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Way too expensive”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2012

Went with a group. Food was tasty, but skimpy. And very very expensive for what you get We probably wouldn't go back.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Myers, Florida
Top Contributor
112 reviews 112 reviews
87 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
“This is a WOW”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2012

My wife and I stopped in while at the Bell Tower shops. And wow were we delighted. The atmosphere, service and food were top-notch! We would highly recommend this to anyone looking for an Asian food treat.

Visited March 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Ok but but over priced.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2012 via mobile

We went as a group of four. The service was very good. The food was ok but not worth average of $25 a plate. First hibachi restaurant I've been to that you had to pay extra for fried rice. Don't think we will be back any time soon.

    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed DaRuMa also viewed

Fort Myers, Southwest Gulf Coast
Fort Myers, Southwest Gulf Coast
 
Fort Myers, Southwest Gulf Coast
Naples, Southwest Gulf Coast
 

Been to DaRuMa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage DaRuMa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.