We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Authentic cuisine” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Taco Viva

Taco Viva
18911 Tamiami Trail, Fort Myers, FL 33908
239-590-3812
Improve this listing
Ranked #141 of 670 Restaurants in Fort Myers
Cuisines: Mexican
Restaurant details
new jersey
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Very Authentic cuisine”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

Met friends here for an afternoon bite. We ordered a bunch of tacos and burritos. They were awesome to say the least. We went with chicken and beef. Both were outstanding. Very nice staff too. Will be back for sure.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

16 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    10
    1
    5
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Fort Myers, Florida
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“I'd Rather Spend More Money and Get Better Food”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2013

My husband wanted to try this place, so I decided to give it a whirl since it was closer to us than our usual Mexican restaurant.
We ordered takeout and my husband picked up the food on the way home from work. He had some tacos and I asked a bean burrito with a side of rice and beans. He ended up ordering me two bean burritos since he wasn't sure which type I would like. One had just refried beans and cheese and the other had a spicy rice mixed in with the beans. Both were OK but neither made me start planning my next visit to this restaurant. I thought they were a little dry, so IF we tried Taco Viva again, I would ask for Queso or Salsa as a topping. The side of rice and beans was so small (granted, it costs 99 cents) and not good; I gave it to my husband to eat. I also found some shredded chicken in the burrito that had the rice and then I gave them to my husband, as well.
He seemed ok with his meal. So if you're looking for some cheap, average Mexican food to fill up on, this is a good place to choose over Taco Bell. But it is below Iguana Mias and way below Jalopenos.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ivins, Utah
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“WONDERFUL FOOD in a small place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2013

We had a coupon so we set out as out of staters to the eatery. We were warmly welcomed there and placed our order. When the food came we were very happy as it was wonderful Latin fare! The food was terrific! I had the Mole' It had wonderful flavor and My husband had enchaladas which were also very good. As I write this review at home in my house in Utah I wish we loved closer as I'd go there right now for an encore. GREAT FOOD FOLKS! One word about this place, YUMM!

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida, United States
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Good inexpensive Mexican food in San Carlos, not fancy at all.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2012

Tacos are good and can be had with soft flour, soft corn or crispy tortillas. Burritos are also an amazing value at $2/ ea. Ceviche is surprisingly good, as are the Gyros. ... Yes, Gyros! You can get the spicy Greek lamb in a burrito or taco, too.

Guacamole is good and go for the jalapeños and carrots with your meal. They make it!

Have some horchata to make it a full Mexican experience in a very unlikely location.

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Estero, FL
Top Contributor
162 reviews 162 reviews
96 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 73 cities Reviews in 73 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
“Don't Pass up this Take-Out”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2011

The old Dairy Queen was converted to Taco Viva and they have some good Tex-Mex to go. They do have some tables but choose to take home. The number 2 special is great for 2 people with 3 tacos and 2 burritos along with a choice of chips and cheese or beans and rice. They also have some greek selections as well. Quite the interesting menu. Have not really had anything that I would not try again.
Service is usually good except when they have a little more business than they can handle. Then it gets a little testy. That's ok, I still stop by for some tasty treats.

  • Visited September 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Taco Viva also viewed

Fort Myers, Southwest Gulf Coast
Fort Myers, Southwest Gulf Coast
 
Fort Myers, Southwest Gulf Coast
Fort Myers, Southwest Gulf Coast
 

Been to Taco Viva? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Taco Viva, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.