We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Authentic, great tasting food every time.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Austrian-German Restaurant

Ranked #11 of 651 Restaurants in Fort Myers
Price range: $6 - $22
Cuisines: Austrian, German
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Doing business, Outdoor seating, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Description: Helga (owner and chef) has been indulging her guests since 30 years. She also owns a restaurant in Vienna. Her main goals are: make her guests feel at home, let them enjoy fine food and make them having a good time.Therefor there’s Inside and Outside seating available.Since 2008, we serve original Austrian and German dishes. Plus a selection of regional specialties.We are located inside the Royal Palm Square.
Fort Myers, Florida
1 review
“Authentic, great tasting food every time.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2013

I grew up in Germany and this is by far the best Austrian-German-Bavarian Restaurant in Florida I have been to in the past 10 years. The food is tasty, fresh and plated beautifully every single time. The soups are excellent and different every day. The service is great. We come here for lunch and for Dinner and were never disappointed.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AG-Restaurant, Leiter Öffentlichkeitsarbeit at Austrian-German Restaurant, responded to this review, July 19, 2013
That's balm for the soul. Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

207 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    150
    31
    10
    8
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Estero, Florida
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Amazing Dinner”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2013

We are locals and thought we would try a resturant we had never been to. A friend recommended this resturant. From the moment we walked in we were greeted with a friendly welcoming smile , quickly sitted and our drink order taken .
From the soup to the entree to the fabulous dessert the food was excellent. We have found a gem in Fort Myers and we will return there again very soon.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Naples, Florida
Top Contributor
99 reviews 99 reviews
72 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
90 helpful votes 90 helpful votes
“Every bite was tasty!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013

We arrived on a Saturday night and were glad we had used TripAdvisor to call and secure a reservation for a table inside. Apparently they had a buffet going on that night and it's very popular. Seating inside the restaurant is limited so it was also available on the patio (a bit warm inside and out as Florida was at 92 degrees that afternoon). I'm not a buffet fan in general, but was exceptionally pleased with the food quality. It was delicious. Every bite from the potato salad, Wiener Schnitzel (veal), red cabbage, slaw, mushroom gravy to the Black Forrest Cake. I'd gladly return. The location is hidden within a shopping mall and it does need a good scrubbing, but I thought is was an incredible meal and a great value.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AG-Restaurant, Leiter Öffentlichkeitsarbeit at Austrian-German Restaurant, responded to this review, July 19, 2013
Thank you for the hint, but we are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Myers, Florida, United States
1 review
“Loved It!!!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2013

My husband and I have eaten here many times and have recently taken friends. We have always enjoyed the good food and service as did our friends. we are planning another night out to take more friends and are really looking forward to the excellent food.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Naperville, Illinois
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“A-G Restaurant”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2013

The salad was an authentic European salad with American salad dressings.
The lemon was the best part of the Wiener Schnitzel (veal).
The roasted potatoes were excellent.
The apple strudel should have been warmed. It was served at room temperature. The crust was too tough to cut through with only a fork.
The restaurant needed a good cleaning.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AG-Restaurant, Leiter Öffentlichkeitsarbeit at Austrian-German Restaurant, responded to this review, July 19, 2013
We are very sorry that you did not really enjoy visiting our restaurant.
Our dressing recipes are all from Austria. We do not use American dressings. We prepare the Apple Strudel daily fresh. We hope that we can satisfy you during your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Austrian-German Restaurant also viewed

Fort Myers, Southwest Gulf Coast
Fort Myers, Southwest Gulf Coast
 
Fort Myers, Southwest Gulf Coast
Fort Myers, Southwest Gulf Coast
 

Been to Austrian-German Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Austrian-German Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.