We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great German Dessert” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Austrian-German Restaurant

Austrian-German Restaurant
1400 Colonial Boulevard, Fort Myers, FL 33907
+1 239-936-8118
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #10 of 654 Restaurants in Fort Myers
Price range: $6 - $22
Cuisines: Austrian, German
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Doing business, Outdoor seating, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Description: Helga (owner and chef) has been indulging her guests since 30 years. She also owns a restaurant in Vienna. Her main goals are: make her guests feel at home, let them enjoy fine food and make them having a good time.Therefor there’s Inside and Outside seating available.Since 2008, we serve original Austrian and German dishes. Plus a selection of regional specialties.We are located inside the Royal Palm Square.
Fort Myers, Florida
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great German Dessert”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2013

We visited for coffee and dessert. The apple strudle was very good. The atmosphere was great. Sorry to have missed the German night. Will make a point to do so next time.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AG-Restaurant, Leiter Öffentlichkeitsarbeit at Austrian-German Restaurant, responded to this review, April 9, 2013
You are very welcome! Next German Nights: 4/12/ & 4/13/2013.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

214 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    154
    33
    10
    8
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Columbia, South Carolina
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“The Best”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2013

this was the second time we have eaten here. it was buffet night and food was absolutely wonderful. there was a great band as the evening went the patrons were singing along you would have thought you were in a bear hall in Munich. if you never make it to Germany but want some authentic German food you have to go here.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“A total hidden gem”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2013 via mobile

Found this spot via TripAdvisor reviews while visiting my mom in Fort Myers. Awesome food at a great value.

Classic German food with a huge list of Schnitzel varieties. Small but efficient selection of beers and wines. Homemade bread nailed it. Strudel dough was tough.

It's a bit tough to find - no external signage. Walk into the Royal Palm Plaza and find them situated in the courtyard in the middle. Outdoor seating in the warm weather.

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Coral, Florida
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Best German Food!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2013

Showed up with no reservation on a Thursday night around 6PM. Immediately seated at an outside table and ordered drinks. We had port schnitzel and beef roast with potatoes. This turned out to be some of the best German food we have had in years. We have recommended this restaurant to others and will definitely return ourselves.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Coral, Florida
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Disappointed”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2013

We looked at the menu online and both knew what we wanted (Tafelspitz and Cevapcici). Our reservation was for 6:00pm on Friday night and between inside and outside, there were 9 tables seated, with 2 servers. They didn't have either of our dinner choices and we both ended up ordering something else. We are watching diets and didn't want any sauces, and I didn't want anything fried but really didn't see anything that appealed to me. I had schnitzel, scraped off the breading and ate the pork only and didn't touch the fried potatoes. My husband loved his steak, onions and potatoes, but it was a much heavier meal than he wanted. We would have had a 2nd glass of wine but our server didn't come back to ask. He had a very nice personality but was BUSY. The wait time is a bit long.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Austrian-German Restaurant also viewed

Fort Myers, Southwest Gulf Coast
Fort Myers, Southwest Gulf Coast
 
Fort Myers, Southwest Gulf Coast
Fort Myers, Southwest Gulf Coast
 

Been to Austrian-German Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Austrian-German Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.