We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Service was very poor” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Austrian-German Restaurant

Austrian-German Restaurant
1400 Colonial Boulevard, The Restaurant Is in the Courtyard of Royal Palm Square, Fort Myers, FL 33907
+1 239-936-8118
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #9 of 641 Restaurants in Fort Myers
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $6 - $22
Cuisines: German, Austrian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Doing business, Entertaining clients, Romantic
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Late Night, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Description: Helga and Helmut (chef) has been indulging their guests since 30 years. Helga also owns a restaurant in Vienna. Their main goals are: make guests feel at home, let them enjoy fine food and make them having a good time. Therefore there's Inside and Outside seating available.Since 2008, we serve original Austrian and German dishes. Plus a selection of regional specialties.We are located inside the Royal Palm Square.
Punta Gorda, Florida
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Service was very poor”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2012

We have been to this restaurant several times. The food has always been excellent. The service leaves a lot to be desired. The service has always been slow, and 2+ hours seems to be normal for a meal. Our last visit (It will be our last unless they get their act together) was a disaster. We had a reservation for 7PM and arrived about 6:55. We were told that we would be seated shortly. About 7:15 they told us which table would be ours, and that the party there was paying the bill. At 7:35 another party was seated at that table. When we complained they told us that they had made a mistake, and offered to seat us (party of 4) at a table for 8. Unfortunately, the group waiting for the table for 8 was right there, and wanted to be seated. At this point the wait for a table would have been another half hour or more so we left. It turned out that it was a good thing that we left, as some other people that we knew were also there. They had been seated at about 7:15, and left without being served at 9:00.

I believe that the main problem is that they do not want to turn away customers, and take more reservations than they can handle.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

259 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    184
    41
    13
    11
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Southern Maryland
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Authentic German food with friendly service.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2012 via mobile

Wondeful! My wife and I enjoyed our meals which were prepared fresh and were generous portions. The apple stroddle was excellent.

This is a hidden gem worth finding.

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mercer, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Wanted to rate it higher.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2012

After reading the positive comments about the food my husband and I wanted to take my son there for dinner. That being said, my husband lived in Germany for 23 years and my son is a culinary school graduate/professional.

The two different schnitzels were excellent and authentic but the goulash, when compared that from a restaurant in Germany, was below average. My husband's goulash was supposed to include spaetzle but arrived with a dumpling. When asked why, Helmut said they had run out of spaetzle and made the substitution. He should have, at least, checked to see if that was acceptable. The advertized beer, a favorite of my husband, was not available so we had the one suggested. "ONE" here being the key word. Forty-five minutes later (between salad and entrees) we had to to go looking for more!!!

The service was painfully slow, even for us, who like to have lots of time for conversation between courses. We were told that two employees had not shown up for work. Our educated guess is that the good reviews have brought in more people than they are prepared to handle. Or there could be two other scenarios......Helga, the great cook...really, has trouble keeping help to meet her standards or enough help hasn't been hired this early in the "season."

Would we go back. Maybe. This evening could have been the exception to the rule. And, in fairness, we were given a complimentary dessert to compensate.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Charlotte, Florida
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Good Food Long Long Wait”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2012

Went with a group of 10 to this small restaurant on Wed night. We had a reservation so the restaurant knew we were coming. Our table was 2 round tables put together and so close to the wall we had trouble getting into the chairs. The air conditioning was broken but fans had been setup although being so close together it was very hot. We were seated almost 15 minutes before we got menus and it was 30 minutes before our drink order was taken. Then some of the group were served but it required one of us to find the waiter to get everyone served. Chris, our waiter was polite but totally overwhelmed. He was the only waiter at the time and the place was full. Another waiter was called in but that didn't seem to help much. The wait for bread, drinks, and food was simply not acceptable. Another large table also had a reservation and must have been regulars because even though they were seated 15 minutes after us, they had bread and soup/salad before we had menus. As for the food the salads were fresh and nice, the sausage and bean soup tasted very similar to Campbells "bean and bacon." Everyone enjoyed their entree. I had Hungarian Goulash with spatzel which was nicely spiced and tender. The sauerbraten was also very well done. There were several varieties of schnitzel and weiner schnitzel on the menu and everyone who ordered them raved about them. The portions are huge which after waiting so long for food was a pleasant surprise. No one had room for dessert. I wanted to like this restaurant. They were friendly and the food was very good but I will never return. The wait was just too long and the service too spotty, by the time food finally came everyone was irritable and unhappy. If we had not had reservation which were made a day ahead I would have said well they didn't expect so many people but that was not the case. They knew they would be busy and did not properly prepare. Maybe if you only had 2 or 4 in your group it would be okay but don't take a group here.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lehigh Acres, Florida, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Austrian-German Restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2012

My friend from Germany took me their on a Saturday night. We had no reservatins but the owner found us a table. I ordered the vienerschnitzel and spaetzle. Both were outstandind.

Visited February 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Austrian-German Restaurant also viewed

Fort Myers, Southwest Gulf Coast
Fort Myers, Southwest Gulf Coast
 
Fort Myers, Southwest Gulf Coast
Fort Myers, Southwest Gulf Coast
 

Been to Austrian-German Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Austrian-German Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.