We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Gardner's Park Tea House” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Butterfly Estates

Butterfly Estates
1815 Fowler Street, Fort Myers, FL 33901
(239) 690-2359
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #46 of 101 things to do in Fort Myers
Attraction details
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
11 attraction reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Gardner's Park Tea House”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2013

My mom and I went to the Gardner's Park Tea House, because we found it on Groupon. We were very impressed by the Tea House. If you are a Tea drinker you would really enjoy and also the food was very good. The service was very attentive.

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

112 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    44
    32
    15
    10
    11
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Peoria, Illinois, United States
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Educational experience.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2013

If you are looking for a larger place with more butterflies, then take a pass. Yes it is somewhat expensive but our experience was excellent. The staff was very welcoming and gave us a very good overview of the stages of butterflies and more before we entered the garden. It is very warm and humid so bring a hand fan.The temperature is set for the butterflies not for the tourists. Lovely gift shop and helpful volunteers. Cafe and fudge shop were closed for renovations but should be open now.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Latin in Florida
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
10 attraction reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Quaint experience. The service cafe bad, ice cream & fudge awesome”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2013

A lil over priced for what it is. If you r a butterfly freak then you'll enjoy the friday butterfly release party. Don't eat food bar, but salad bar ok. I agree w/ the wal- mart quality food comment. Go for butterflies & fudge.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Your backyard has more to offer than this palce!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2013

Please, I am begging you to take your family and yourself elsewhere! The food is Wal-Mart quality served with a heaping pile of pomp and circumstance and a free side of filth. The servers are beyond pretentious and inexperienced. Devil may care attitude as though you and yours should be thankful to them for gracing you with their presence. The gift shop is nothing more than highly over rated garage sale crap. The cashier was curt and impolite. We not once heard the word "Thank You" during our entire time there nor at the end of every transaction. We dropped close to $200.00 and that was not including the exorbitant $15.00 charge for adults and the $9.00 for children starting at three years of age!?!?!?? REALLY?!??!? Patheic business. Expect NO gratitude! Trust me, take your $$$ to Goodwill. God knows you'll get your monies worth there for certain. The floors and décor are apparently cleaned on a yearly basis and not a place I felt I would ever expose my family to again. The ice cream and candy store were evidently supplied by cheap facades displayed as the genuine thing. We purchased several pounds of candies and fudge which you would not need a very refined palate to distinguish between quality and sugared up product to cover it's low quality. To put it mildly, it was foul and thrown into the garbage when we arrived home. Now, the butterfly garden was more like a jaunt through a tiny green house sauna. We saw ONE butterfly, which appeared to be a Monarch which we commonly see in our backyards. My friends, I would have been elated to have given this establishment at least two stars but it has proven to be no more than a highly over rated money trap, ... Your money precisely. It's locale screams ghetto in a high crime area disguised by clever advertising. This "Attraction", and I use that term loosely is not worth a dime and obviously NOT a good member of the community with what they charge and the so called product they serve. Shame on the owners for attempting and often times succeeding to dupe the public.To be blunt, well, even more blunt I would describe it as a fake Rolex. From afar it looks like the real thing but up close is NOTHING more than a cheap facsimile, .... crap. Save your time, the security of your family (as I would not venture into this side of Fort Myers) get some ice cream at the store, fire up the grill, gather the family around and enjoy the creature comforts of your own backyard. You're sure to see more butterflies there!

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, MS
Top Contributor
92 reviews 92 reviews
28 attraction reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
“Love the Butterfly's”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2013

This was a smaller butterfly garden than the others I've visited, and at the time we visited it didn't seem to have that many butterflies. May have been the time of year or weather. It was very very hot in the garden so we had to keep coming out and cooling off in the entrance area. Made our visit not that much fun and we just couldn't stay as long as we wished. Should be a totally different atmosphere in winter. The staff were very friendly and gave us a personal tour of the garden, pointing out many of the different butterflies. They had several of the feeding and breeding tents set up in the entrance area so you could get a good look, something that the other butterfly gardens don't do. Very educational. We'll come back in cooler weather and try again.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Butterfly Estates also viewed

Fort Myers, Southwest Gulf Coast
 
Fort Myers, Southwest Gulf Coast
Fort Myers, Southwest Gulf Coast
 

Been to Butterfly Estates? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Butterfly Estates, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.