We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not just butterflies” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Butterfly Estates

Butterfly Estates
1815 Fowler Street, Fort Myers, FL 33901
(239) 690-2359
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #21 of 33 Attractions in Fort Myers
Type: Nature/ Wildlife Areas, Zoos & Aquariums
Attraction details
Port Charlotte, Florida
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
13 attraction reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Not just butterflies”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2013

Butterfly Estates is a restaurant too, sort of a yuppie place but in a tourist City. It was good food, good setting, and comfortable to hang out.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

101 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    38
    30
    13
    9
    11
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Huntley, Illinois
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Tranquility”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2013

If you're looking for a spot where you can find some peace and quiet then you need to check this place out. After a short explanation of what you will see, you can go inside. Once inside you are surrounded by the sounds of soft music and water trickling through small streams. The best part is the butterflies. They are everywhere. Multi colored butterflies flutter around you and some even land on you to take a rest. The guides can show you the caterpillars that are hiding in the foliage . It's just a very peaceful and relaxing place to go. I recommend it.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Asheville, Nc
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
15 attraction reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Hidden gem in downtown Ft. Myers!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2013

This is a lovely attraction in downtown Ft. Myers. It is comprised of a butterfly atrium and three restored historic cottages that contain a cafe, ice cream and fudge shop, and a gift shop. I had the calzone in the cafe the last time we visited, and it was delicious. If you live in the area, the best deal is the family pass, with any group of seven individuals allowed per "family" for $60, with unlimited visits individually or in any combination for one year. Twice we have used Groupons and gotten family memberships for $30 ($4.29 per person for one year--what a deal!). This way you can stop in when you are in downtown Ft. Myers and enjoy the butterflies and perhaps have lunch in the cafe, or choose the fudge or ice cream for a dessert. This attraction would also be great for a child's birthday party, complete with butterfly wings for the birthday child to wear, a visit to the atrium, and, I believe, refreshments. I once saw a young girl celebrating her birthday at the Butterfly Estates and her eyes lit up and she looked so excited when her butterfly wings were placed on her shoulders. We have had a family membership for years, and we are so fortunate to have this attraction in Ft. Myers!

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenfield, Wisconsin
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
20 attraction reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Beauty in the gardens”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013

This was a beautiful, interesting and relaxing experience. The greenhouse gardens house all Florida native butterflies. In the atrium leading to the main gardens there are containers of chrysalis and caterpillars forming them. You get to experience all the stages of transformation. The guides are very knowledgeable and even showed us the tiny eggs that were layed by butterflies that start the process all over again. We were even able to see the release of newly born butterflies flying for the first time. The greenhouse itself has beautiful gardens, ponds and a stream in it. There is relaxing music playing in the background and it all makes for a wonderful experience. If you like photography, there are ample opportunities available. There is an attached gift shop, ice cream & homemade fudge shop and cafe with outside dining available. It all made for a wonderful experience!

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Coral, Florida
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“interesting afternoon”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2013

Having never been to a Butterfly garden I really enjoyed this. There is always someone there to help you find the butterflies and identify them for you. The cafe next door has great food.

Visited May 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Butterfly Estates also viewed

Fort Myers, Southwest Gulf Coast
Fort Myers, Southwest Gulf Coast
 
Fort Myers, Southwest Gulf Coast
Fort Myers, Southwest Gulf Coast
 

Been to Butterfly Estates? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Butterfly Estates, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.