We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“unique & classy” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Butterfly Estates

Butterfly Estates
1815 Fowler Street, Fort Myers, FL 33901
(239) 690-2359
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #21 of 33 Attractions in Fort Myers
Type: Nature/ Wildlife Areas, Zoos & Aquariums
Attraction details
Cape Coral, Florida
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“unique & classy”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2012

A relaxing and unusual place to visit. Employees are knowledgeable and share information about the butterflies. Luncheon is very good. I'm a member and visit the estates frequently. Last year I had my grandson's high school graduation party there and it was a big hit with all the attendees.

Visited February 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

101 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    38
    30
    13
    9
    11
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
north port,fl
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
17 attraction reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
“Great Afternoon!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2012

I bought a Groupon deal for a family membership to the Butterfly Estates. My oldest grandson & I made up a story about a butterfly garden, so I thought this would be perfect place to go. I didn't know what to expect as it is in the center of Ft. Myers downtown area. My husband & I met my son, his wife & my two grandsons after they were finished hockey in Ft. Myers. We had lunch @ Flutterby's cafe, which was very good. They make a pizza shaped as a butterfly which the kids enjoyed. They also have an ice cream parlor, & gift shop, plus of course, the conservatory. The butterflies were amazing! The young woman who worked there was wonderful explaining all the different butterflies & stages. They even let my grandson release a butterfly that was ready. He was thrilled! They also gave him a branch with an empty chrysalis on it & a dried Monarch butterfly. The gardens are pretty too. My suggestion is to call before going as they have special activities that are not listed on the website, i.e. afternoon tea once a month, breakfast once a month, reading a story with children certain days, etc..

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Myers, Florida
Top Contributor
96 reviews 96 reviews
16 attraction reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
“Serendipity”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2012

Look the word up if you need to. This is an unexpected find...no, let's make that a treasure. Tucked away on a side street near downtown is this delightful world. It's not just a butterfly conservatory but also a neat gift shop and especially a first class eating spot. We bought an annual membership and have enjoyed the place several times.

Visited February 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Coral, Florida
1 review
“Mothers Day”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2012

It was a perfect day!! It's absolutely beautiful and breath-taking experience.
The owners and entire staff were great.
Brunch was delicious...desserts were sinfully good.
Truly enjoyed it!!

Visited May 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Myers, Florida
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Restaurant, Gifts, Butterflies, OH MY!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2012

What a great place to spend some time whether you are old, young, a group; you can do lunch, check out the beauty of the place, sit among the butterflies, or just to go for some ice cream and fudge! I try to get here at least once a week!

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Butterfly Estates also viewed

Fort Myers, Southwest Gulf Coast
Fort Myers, Southwest Gulf Coast
 
Fort Myers, Southwest Gulf Coast
Fort Myers, Southwest Gulf Coast
 

Been to Butterfly Estates? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Butterfly Estates, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.