We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hand Tossed Pizza? Not!!” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Downtown House of Pizza

Downtown House of Pizza
1520 Hendry St, Fort Myers, FL 33901-2908
+1 239-337-3467
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #29 of 671 Restaurants in Fort Myers
Price range: $1 - $20
Cuisines: Pizza
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget
Dining options: Delivery, Late Night
Description: Serving pizza, slices, hot & cold subs, strombolis, calzones, salads, hot wings and cannolis.Bottled beverages and draft beer.Indoor and outdoor seatingOpen lateLunch specialsCoupons on our website
Cocoa Beach, Florida
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
118 helpful votes 118 helpful votes
“Hand Tossed Pizza? Not!!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2013

Downtown bills itself as being "The Best Hand-Tossed Pizza South of New York."

Being extremely familiar with doormat-sized, super crispy crust pizza, I can honestly say that this place is okay but definitely advertising itself as more than it really is.

For starters, the pizza slices are average sized at best unlike the enornous sized slices you get at top New York pizzarias.

Secondly, the marinara was very salty and lacking in Italian spicing (such as basil or oregano.

Third, the pizza dough was soggy which is nearly a sin for pizzarias in NYC.

Lastly, the only thing I saw being tossed was a dish rag into the sink. Did not see anyone spinning the pizza dough like they did in the old days.

Overall was it a disappointment? Not really but it definitely is NOT true NY style.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

81 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    56
    16
    3
    3
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Fort Myers, Florida, United States
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Yes please!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2013

I'm sure there are great pizza's all around us but this is the best pizza for the best price. Quaint restaurant in the heart of Downtown Fort Myers but don't let that fool you. It houses some pretty awesome pizza! You can get a large cheese pizza for $9.99. Their large is 16 inch, not 12 or 14 as all these others say are their large and charge $16 and up. This is a nice hot, cheesy 16 inch pizza with a not too thin but not too thick crispy crust. (Charge per topping, unless you order specialty). Ohhhh heaven! When you crave pizza and are low on the dough, this is definitely the place to go! (Liked that didn't you..lol..) They also have salads, canolis, etc..check out their website...http://www.downtownhouseofpizza.com/ Employees are nice and ready to serve you. You can watch them make the pizza! There is limited seating inside and a few seats outside. If you have to wait, it's worth it. Plus you can always order over the phone for pick up, delivery, or order there and walk around the other stores they have around them (like the famous Downtown Ft Myers Cigar Bar, etc).. You could even pick it up, head down to the Centennial Park, or the pier, eat and enjoy the view!! They normally have coupons on their website and great single slice pizza deals! If you are not near, it's worth the drive!

  • Visited November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rhode island
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
“It doesn't get any better!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2013

We discovered this gem of a place during a downtown Art Walk Night last year...wow! Were blown away with the pizza slices..especially love the Margarita..fresh slices of tomato, basil, cheese AND some minced garlic..seasoned perfectly. We are senior citizens from NE and this pizza is by far the best we have ever had.
The guys working here are ALL super helpful and friendly. Also love the back area...nothing fancy but nice to be able to sit out and enjoy a slice or two and a nice cold brewsky on a balmy evening. Word of advice, guys..don't change a thing..your little hole-in-wall restaurant is terrific!

  • Visited November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Fort Myers, Florida
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
65 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
69 helpful votes 69 helpful votes
“Best pizza we have had in Florida”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2013

Pizza man tossing pizzas at the front window and very friendly guys at the counter. The thin crust New York style was just like you get in NYC. They offer a great variety of slices as well as full pies and they serve soft drinks and beer. We ordered our food and drink and took it out to the tables in the courtyard behind the restaurant. It is in the downtown river district; a great area with lots going on all around; a very hip, vibrant urban experience. Great for all ages: couples, friends, families.

We will definitely return often.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Great Crust!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2013 via mobile

Guys behind the counter were very knowledgeable about their product. One knew exactly when they switched away from peanut oil to veggie oil... showed concern for the safety of my child. They were also very patient while we pondered all of the delicious choices. Slices were huge and crust was perfect!! Love, love, love this place!! We will definitely be back.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Downtown House of Pizza also viewed

Fort Myers, Southwest Gulf Coast
Fort Myers, Southwest Gulf Coast
 
Fort Myers, Southwest Gulf Coast
Fort Myers, Southwest Gulf Coast
 

Been to Downtown House of Pizza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Downtown House of Pizza, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.