We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best pizza we have had in Florida” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Downtown House of Pizza

Downtown House of Pizza
1520 Hendry St, Fort Myers, FL 33901-2908
+1 239-337-3467
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #39 of 650 restaurants in Fort Myers
Price range: $1 - $20
Cuisines: Pizza
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget
Dining options: Delivery, Late Night
Description: Serving pizza, slices, hot & cold subs, strombolis, calzones, salads, hot wings and cannolis.Bottled beverages and draft beer.Indoor and outdoor seatingOpen lateLunch specialsCoupons on our website
North Fort Myers, Florida
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
60 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
“Best pizza we have had in Florida”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2013

Pizza man tossing pizzas at the front window and very friendly guys at the counter. The thin crust New York style was just like you get in NYC. They offer a great variety of slices as well as full pies and they serve soft drinks and beer. We ordered our food and drink and took it out to the tables in the courtyard behind the restaurant. It is in the downtown river district; a great area with lots going on all around; a very hip, vibrant urban experience. Great for all ages: couples, friends, families.

We will definitely return often.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

70 reviews from our community

90% Recommend
    47
    16
    3
    1
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Great Crust!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2013 via mobile

Guys behind the counter were very knowledgeable about their product. One knew exactly when they switched away from peanut oil to veggie oil... showed concern for the safety of my child. They were also very patient while we pondered all of the delicious choices. Slices were huge and crust was perfect!! Love, love, love this place!! We will definitely be back.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Disappointed”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2013

The good reviews brought us to Downtown House of Pizza. Our favorite pizza is thin crisp crust New York style. We ordered two of the giant slices. The pizza was lacking much if any pizza sauce, the crust was not crisp and the taste was quite bland. Not many places to sit if you want to dine-in. Mostly stools at narrow counters that could have used a wipe down between patrons. We wouldn't go back.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Myers, Florida, United States
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
“NY Style pizza in a fun location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2013

If you like NY style pizza (very thin, chewy crisp crust - hard to explain) then you will enjoy a slice from Downtown House of Pizza. Close your eyes and you are in Brooklyn or North Jersey. This style pizza is a food staple in the northeast, but Fort Myers is the City of Palms, not the City of Pizza, so it's a real treat! Best I've had in Florida.

Get a few slices and enjoy them on a picnic table out back in the charming Patio de Leon.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Latin in Florida
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Best pizza in lee county”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2013

I've loved this place for decades. I've waited in line for an hour for 1 slice & worth it. They need To clean the customer area more often, always messy but the garden slice is a piece of heaven.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Downtown House of Pizza also viewed

Fort Myers, Southwest Gulf Coast
Fort Myers, Southwest Gulf Coast
 
Fort Myers, Southwest Gulf Coast
Fort Myers, Southwest Gulf Coast
 

Been to Downtown House of Pizza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Downtown House of Pizza, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.