We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bird Watching” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Bunche Beach

Bunche Beach
18201 John Morris Rd, Fort Myers, FL 33931
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #19 of 52 attractions in Fort Myers
Type: Beaches
More attraction details
Attraction Details
Owner description: Visit Old Florida, where things are done naturally.San Carlos Bay - Bunche Beach Preserve is a 718 acre beach and mangrove forest preserve with a variety of recreational opportunities to enjoy including: Bird Watching, Canoe/Kayak Launch, Canoeing/Kayaking, Fishing, Hiking (Boardwalk), Nature Study/Photography, Picnic Area, Swimming and Sun Bathing.Step back in time visiting San Carlos Bay- Bunche Beach Preserve, one of the few natural beaches framed with native vegetation and mangrove tunnels to explore by kayak or canoe. In 2010, public beach facilities were completed & opened with ADA parking, restrooms, fishing piers, kayak ramp, picnic tables, and a small boardwalk overlooking Rock Creek. On the white sandy beach, there is an ADA mobie mat that leads to an ADA picnic table. Bunche Beach is not a barrier island beach. It is narrow compared to the beaches on Sanibel and Fort Myers beach. This adds to its unique charm. This Beach is never crowded and easily accessible with no traffic concerns. Kayak and SUP rentals are available through the on site vendor, Kayak Excursions, which also sells bottled water and assorted sundries at the Activities center located just behind the beach.Enjoy a quiet day by the bay.
central New Jersey
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Bird Watching”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2014

I'm rating this for the birds at the end of December. It was recommended online by a local birding club. We got there and didn't think we'd find anything. We walked out to the beach and made a left. We saw tons of black skimmers, willets, royal terns, forsters terns, sandwich terns, marbled godwits, a piping plover, a ruddy turnstone. We were thrilled. You have to pay for parking.

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

112 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    48
    30
    23
    7
    4
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Gainesville, FL
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Unspoiled treasure”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2013

We spent a week visiting Sanibel Island and its various beaches, but at the end of the day, this quiet little beach may have been our very favorite. We are nature lovers and dislike beaches teeming with people with ugly condos at our backs. Bunche's shoreline is the way nature intended, and it was very peaceful and quiet. If you walk far enough, you will come to a point with some seagrape and mangrove shade that curves around to where the river comes in. I ate my lunch here and felt like I was alone on a Caribbean island. Looks like a great fishing spot, and I would love to kayak there, too. Our kids found interesting creatures by wading out into the shallow, clear water, and the birding was amazing. The shelling was not extremely superb, but not bad. There was NO trash, NO smell, and if you think this beach is "muddy"--well, you have never seen a real mud flat! If you want a huge, wide beach packed with people, with restaurants, bars, and tacky souvenir shops nearby, this is not the beach for you, but if you like a secluded, quiet, natural beach, come to Bunche.

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Myers, Florida
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Nice beach but not on the Gulf”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2013

This beach is on the bay, facing Ft. Myers Beach. It has white sand for a short distance and is then more of a natural bay beach. There is a fee for parking. The water is shallow, with wide flats exposed at low tide. It would be a safe location for small children. High surf is not an issue.

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harrogate, United Kingdom
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
11 attraction reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Quiet and peaceful”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2013

We particularly like this little beach. It's normally very quiet, unlike Ft. Myers Beach. Good parking close by and wonderful for an early morning stroll.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ft myers fl
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“great beach”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2013

let me start by addressing the issues of the 4 terrible reviews. first, the beach is on the gulf and not on the river. second, sea grass is vital to the aquatic life. third, the water is clean i've waded out about 75 yards and could see the bottom. if you want touristy facilities9they're about a short walk off the beach) go to ft myers beach. the beach is quiet and i've never seen anything that the four negative reviewers claimed and it's the only beach i go to. you have no drunks or other misfits there.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bunche Beach also viewed

Fort Myers, Southwest Gulf Coast
Fort Myers, Southwest Gulf Coast
 
Fort Myers, Southwest Gulf Coast
Fort Myers, Southwest Gulf Coast
 

Been to Bunche Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bunche Beach, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Bunche Beach to your Saves list