We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent is the only word for this restaurant” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Blue Windows French Bistro

Blue Windows French Bistro
15250 S. Tamiami Trail, Fort Myers, FL 33908
+1 239-849-0622
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #22 of 661 Restaurants in Fort Myers
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $15 - $30
Cuisines: French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Doing business, Special occasions, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Description: Casual little French joint in South Fort Myers. Affordable French dining with attractive wine program. Chef-owner in the kitchen and Wife-owner in the dining room. Professional wait-staff, great food with silky sauces. Escargots, Charcuteries, Cheeses, Marrow Bones, Veal Sweetbread, Roasted Duck, Steak Frites, Huge Shrimp, Veal a la creme... and daily specials. Don't miss the Profiterolles or the Creme Brulee!
FORT MYERS
Level Contributor
247 reviews
191 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“Excellent is the only word for this restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2013

From the time you walk in the door, everything is great. You are greeted promptly by the hostess and seated. The food and service are so good you would think you were in France.
It was our first time eating at Blue Windows and we truly enjoyed everything.
We highly recommend dining here.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

180 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    139
    24
    8
    5
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Fort Myers, Florida
Level Contributor
45 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Hidden Treasure”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2013

We’ve recently relocated to southwest Florida and have been steadily building a new portfolio of favored restaurants. Soon after we arrived, we tried Blue Windows Bistro on the recommendation of friends. With our second visit to this eatery, we felt compelled to contribute a review.

Run by a husband and wife team, it is a small restaurant. The décor is simple and inviting.

Although French cuisine is a minority player amongst our favorites, we do very much enjoy it when we have it. The menu is not extensive, but very nice in terms of selections. They offer a good range of wines – mostly French – at reasonable price.

The food itself is wonderful with a focus on “classics” such as Escargot, Coq au Vin and Ris de Veau (sweetbreads) with a handful of specials offered. I started with classic Escargots… heavenly in their utter simplicity. Next, a green salad, misted with that subtle Dijon dressing.

For the main course, I had my old favorite, sweetbreads. They were expertly prepared… melt-in-your-mouth tender with a nice little crust, plated with a beautiful calvados/crème sauce. My wife enjoyed the sautéed Triggerfish, also perfectly done buerre blanc.

Dessert was profiteroles drizzled with a dark chocolate sauce carrying a hint of Grand Marnier.

Overall, a terrific meal complemented by friendly, warm and attentive service.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Hidden Gem”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2013 via mobile

We visited while on vacation, recommended by family. It doesn't look like much from the outside, but once through the door you are in for a treat.

Welcoming atmosphere and great service. The food was delicious and the $30 4 course meal was a steal!

We were even visited by the friendly chef.

Highly recommended, yum!

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville
Level Contributor
23 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Don't miss this one -- wonderful food, service and atmosphere”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2013

An authentic and charming French bistro in a strip mall? Improbable, but Fort Myers has just that, and it well worth a detour. This small (French) family restaurant is run with great attention to detail, with knowledge and appreciation of food and with respect for the diner. We have come here several times and left with a sense that this is a remarkable place, the sort that you read about in travel magazines but rarely -- if ever -- seem to find.

On our last visit we had the bouillabaisse and roasted duck. The duck was crispy and beautifully flavored, the bouillabaisse was exceptional, I never have had better. The salad was also terrific, as was the bread (I am a bread fanatic). For dessert you must have, as we did, the crème brulee, the crust of which is crisped at your table to form a light glaze. The result is the best I have ever had of this dish. Only one item disappointed, which was the lobster appetizer prepared with garlic in the manner of escargot -- it seemed to me that it was a bit over cooked so that we lost some of the lobster flavor.

The wine list is excellent. I recommend the vouvray which was priced at about $33, a very good value considering the quality.

If you go, you will be warmly welcomed and received. We sent our children and spouses last year (while we sat for the grandchildren) and their visit was actually remembered.

Prices are extremely reasonable for the quality; there is currently a $30 three course prix fixe which is a super value. The ambiance is charming, conversation is comfortable (tables are not too close to each other) and the atmosphere is personal and welcoming. This is one of very few restaurants that will remain in my memory.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Myers, Florida
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Celebrate!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2013

We go to Blue Windows a few times a year--usually for special occasions--and it's always a fun and festive evening. The location isn't fancy, but the interior is charming and cozy. The service is warm--not too formal or too informal. The wait staff is knowledgable and seem to be proud of the food they serve. The proprietress is very charming and keeps things running smoothly. But of course, one of the reasons we go out to eat is the food, and Blue Windows has a wonderful French bistro-style menu with seasonal specials. I love their sweetbreads--I would lick the calvados sauce off the plate, if no one was looking. Other dishes we’ve enjoyed include the coq au vin, steak frites, veal stew, and lamb chops. They have a nice selection of French and American wines and their appetizers are very appetizing. Their prices are very reasonable considering the quality of the food. I highly recommend.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Blue Windows French Bistro also viewed

Fort Myers, Southwest Gulf Coast
Fort Myers, Southwest Gulf Coast
 
Fort Myers, Southwest Gulf Coast
Fort Myers, Southwest Gulf Coast
 

Been to Blue Windows French Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Blue Windows French Bistro, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.