We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful sauces and flavors” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Blue Windows French Bistro

Blue Windows French Bistro
15250 S. Tamiami Trail, Fort Myers, FL 33908
+1 239-849-0622
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #18 of 673 Restaurants in Fort Myers
Price range: $15 - $30
Cuisines: French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations
Description: Casual little French joint in South Fort Myers. Affordable French dining with attractive wine program. Chef-owner in the kitchen and Wife-owner in the dining room. Professional wait-staff, great food with silky sauces. Escargots, Charcuteries, Cheeses, Marrow Bones, Veal Sweetbread, Roasted Duck, Steak Frites, Huge Shrimp, Veal a la creme... and daily specials. Don't miss the Profiterolles or the Creme Brulee!
Fort Myers, Florida
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
92 helpful votes 92 helpful votes
“Wonderful sauces and flavors”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2012

Our friends recommended the restaurant but we were a little skeptical since we aren't huge fans of French food. We got the fixed price menu at $42 that included an appetizer, salad, entree and dessert. Shrimp appetizer was served with a warm tomato based sauce with lots of flavor from the spices. My husband had the filet mignon. He likes his beef plain but really enjoyed the sauce on the filet. I had the 7 oz. grouper and again, the sauce was outstanding. My husband normally doesn't eat dessert but he ate every bite of the kumquat pie. A very interesting taste of tart and sweet. Even the coffee was great. Service was outstanding and the chef came out to ask about our meals. Restaurant only seats about 30 people so be sure to make reservations. Can't wait for a special occasion to go visit again.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

162 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    127
    19
    7
    5
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Fort Myers, Florida
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
“Big Hits, Big Misses”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2012

This place is such an enigma it has taken me twelve months and three visits to write this review. I found the owners to be so personable, kind and sincere that writing something negative is very difficult but I convinced myself that most things I found objectionable are easily fixed. I have several pet-peeves when dining at better restaurants and Blue Windows hits a few them. If you were to walk out after the first five minutes, you could be excussed but don't do it. Initially you are served cold, terribly uninteresting bread (pet peeve 1) accompanied with the addition of ice-cold, foil wrapped pats of butter (pet peeve 2). Soon after you are served what the waiter described as tapenade. Instead of the chopped olives with anchovies, capers, olive oil and perhaps a touch of lemon this concoction had mayo and cayanne pepper. It defies description but it should not be served, ever! Once you get passed this point, virtually everything becomes noteworthy dinning. I have had fantastic sweet breads and escargo. The soups have been outstanding. Main courses from duck to steak will bring you back. The intimate setting, the beautiful presentations and the friendly environment are an experience unique to most places in Fort Myers. The cheerful wife often comes around to ask about your meal and as a nice touch of class, walks you to the door when you leave.

A word about the wine. The first two times dining I had a waiter from Belgium who was outstanding and knowledgable about wine. The last visit brought us a waiter who's confidence and wine knowledge far exceeded his ability. The wine selection is usually not particularly well paired to the menu and are too expensive for the low quality offered. Most of the wines are simple French country wines priced like a better wine.

In summary Blue Windows offers fine fare for main course dinning. If they were to offer interesting warm bread, room temperature butter served in anything other than foil, get rid of that concoction referred to as tapenade (serve real tapenade), and bring in someone who truely knows wine pairings and reasonable pricing, this place would be the talk of the town.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Myers, Florida
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Paris comes to Fort Myers”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2012

Our first visit was for a special occasion, but we have been back several times since due to the outstanding food and service.

The menu is varied, prices well worth the quality received. Wine list is minimal, but satisfactory.

Chef Christian and Mari make the experience special. Well worth a visit.

Probably the best small restaurant in SW Florida!

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Myers, Florida
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Always wonderful!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2012

The place is tiny and the owners are so nice! The food is always wonderful without being over-priced! They have a very nice wine list as well.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
usa
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
56 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“The Best French Restraunt in Fort Myers”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2012

very Intimate French Restaraunt, My Lovely wife took me out, ,dont be put off that it is in a strio mall.quaint,intimate restaraunt, full of regulars, not bad for off season. It is because of the food. Just very good, the Escargot was excellent, I had the Shrimp, scallop,and fish in the puff pastry, in a lovely sauce, my wife had the duck, which was succulent, also had the apple gratin desert excellent, . one complaint, no tea, can't understand that coffee, and espresso available. owner, wife lovely and attentive, waitress also excellent, will come back

  • Visited June 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Blue Windows French Bistro also viewed

Fort Myers, Southwest Gulf Coast
Fort Myers, Southwest Gulf Coast
 
Fort Myers, Southwest Gulf Coast
 

Been to Blue Windows French Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Blue Windows French Bistro, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.