We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A hidden gem” 5 of 5 stars
Review of CRaVE

CRaVE
12901 McGregor Boulevard, Fort Myers, FL 33919
239 466-4663
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #49 of 669 Restaurants in Fort Myers
Price range: $5 - $20
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Doing business, Local cuisine, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Dessert
Brighton, Michigan
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“A hidden gem”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

While we knew about Crave, and have had breakfast there, we didn't realize they served dinner and how great it is. In season (Jan.-Mar) have to get there by 5:30 to get a booth as it is very small. The portions are enough for two, pot roast better than mom made, meat loaf better than mine, and hamburgers superb due to the quality of the beef, which they grind in-house daily. The filet mignon 8 oz. for $22 is like butter. It's also a fun spot as the waiters are very casual and laid back. Save room for dessert - bread pudding awesome and the giant brownie with Love Boat ice cream one of the best. Prices are more than reasonable. We are there 2 nights in a row and would have made it 3 if not for a previous invitation. We're here for 3 months and it will be added to our "rotation" of place to eat. Enjoy!!

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

178 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    93
    47
    19
    10
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Cape Coral, Florida
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“Nickel and Dimed to death--this is not a diner”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

I have eaten at Crave many times since they opened, both for business and pleasure. The food is good. However, the attitude and lack of customer service from the owner could be greatly improved. I went there Saturday night and ordered a Blue cheeseburger (which I frequently have at lunch) and an extra pickle. Instead of fries I wanted a side salad (which I knew would be an upcharge). The server then tells me that the pickle is $1.50 extra and the blue cheese is extra $2.00. The menu did not state anything but "choice of cheese." You are allowed to take something off the menu selection but cannot substitute. This is not a diner. Add an extra dollar to the entire menu selection and do not nickle and dime the customer. The server was out a better tip because I chose to stay with my guest while dinner was eaten and I ate nothing.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Myers, Florida
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Expect the Unexpected”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2013

CRaVE is an interesting and “unexpected” eatery tucked into a strip mall.

Now that we’ve had three breakfasts there and one dinner, a review is in order.

The venue is small with a mix of booths around the walls and a few tables in the center. The décor is quirky/cool and the wait staff is friendly/warm.

The menu offers what might be called “comfort food with a twist.” Our first breakfast outing had us smacking our lips over the eggs benedict and this item remains our favorite. True to our server’s description, the hollandaise is top-notch with that unmistakable tang and velvety texture. The eggs are poached to perfection. There are several variations of this venerable dish ranging from Smithfield ham to corned beef hash to crab cake and spinach.

On our one dinner visit, we had a couple of classics… chicken pot pie and shepherd’s pie. Both were terrific in their tasty simplicity and balanced flavors. You can even enjoy wine and beer there (another surprise).

Overall, a great little place where you can expect the unexpected.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alameda, California
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Wonderful surprise”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2013

Don't let the dismal strip mall setting fool you. Behind the mirror glass exterior is a warm, friendly, place with excellent food at very fair prices. Shrimp and grits! Breakfast specialties and basics. Friendly capable servers. Wish we could have tried everything on the menu

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Excellent Menu Options”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2013

This is a small restaurant in a strip-type mall. But don't let the small size fool you. They're very big on variety. They had some traditional items on the menu, but what we liked most was the unique twist they put on some traditional items, as well as some of the more unique (overall) items they had on their menu. The food was excellent, the wait staff was very friendly and knowledgeable, and the chef's offerings are to be commended (they were suited to fit just about anyone's taste). The prices were very reasonable, the establishment was very clean. We plan to visit Fort Myers again, and we have this restaurant on our "must do" list.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed CRaVE also viewed

Fort Myers, Southwest Gulf Coast
Fort Myers, Southwest Gulf Coast
 
Fort Myers, Southwest Gulf Coast
Fort Myers, Southwest Gulf Coast
 

Been to CRaVE? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage CRaVE, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.