We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fresh, Fantastic, Friendly” 5 of 5 stars
Review of IL Pomodoro Italian Restaurant

IL Pomodoro Italian Restaurant
9681 Gladiolus Dr, Fort Myers, FL 33908-7607
239-985-0080
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #61 of 699 Restaurants in Fort Myers
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations
Cape Coral
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Fresh, Fantastic, Friendly”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2012

This is an exceptional Italian Grill. Lot's of fresh fish selections, daily specials and italian
classics likes Osso Bucco. The meal prices are very reasonable and the portion size is
large. We always have "take home" food for the next day. Il Pomodoro has an extremely
attentive wait staff, an extensive wine list and a variety of freshly made desserts. I want
to also mention their delicious pizza and appetizers.

  • Visited May 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

151 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    87
    43
    12
    3
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Florida
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“Good but not great”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2012

The large portions are basic Italian, good but not great. Some dishes are better prepared than others. I have dined here with family and friends at least once a month since opening

  • Visited February 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Salty sauces”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2012

Dragged by friends who billed it as Italian cooking that matched Arthur Ave. in the Bronx. It was not close. I could not eat my pasta with red clam sauce. Too salty. The salads were drowninf in dressing. The dessertswere fine and the staff was friendly and attentive but the restaurant needs the work of a new chef wthout a salt shaker as his main act.

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Myers, Florida
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Average = Good for Fort Myers”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2012

The inflated reviews reflect the fact that there are very limited dining options in Fort Myers. Il Pomodoro is good, but not great. Lunch is reasonable, but their dinner prices are high. Don't get me wrong, I eat here several times a month, but it's basic Italian food, nothing special.

  • Visited March 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Myers, Florida
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
“Great Food But Wish We Had a Different Waiter”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2012

We have eaten at Il Pomodoro twice. The first time (Dec 2010)was a very pleasant experience: great food and excellent service. The second time was a mixed experience. We were seated promptly and our waiter approached the table. My wife whispered to me that he was a handsome tall fellow and I believe he knew it. He leaned forward, placed his knuckles on the table like an football lineman and asked for our drink order. It was served promptly. A while later, he approached the table, assumed the same posture and asked for our dinner order. As he walked away, my wife asked for a glass of water with lemon. He smiled and gave her a "Yes,Baby" wink. This was getting entertaining! The water took a while to arrive sans lemon. Much later, the waiter brought the lemon., saying something like,"I didn't forget you.". Our meal arrived in a reasonable time, just as I heard another waiter ( the one we had the first time) greet a table of new guests and recite the list of dinner specials, something our waiter neglected to do. Oh well, our meals were excellent. The deserts were HUGE. We all left with enough for another meal and my wife forgot to get the waiter's phone number. All in all, an enjoyable and somewhat entertaining meal. My wife will surely return.........and so will I.

  • Visited March 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed IL Pomodoro Italian Restaurant also viewed

Fort Myers, Southwest Gulf Coast
 
Fort Myers, Southwest Gulf Coast
Fort Myers, Southwest Gulf Coast
 

Been to IL Pomodoro Italian Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage IL Pomodoro Italian Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.