We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“More time spent in car then on beach” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Port Sanibel Marina

Port Sanibel Marina
14341 Port Comfort Rd., Fort Myers, FL 33908
239-437-1660
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #5 of 36 Attractions in Fort Myers
Type: Marinas, Nature & Parks
Attraction details
London
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
11 attraction reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“More time spent in car then on beach”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2015 NEW

Visiting Fort Myers from Canada we were very disappointed with Sanibel Island. The driving on and off the island is horrendous and took literally hours (hour on and hour and a half to get off - on a weekday). The beaches were nice for finding shells but the water was murky and the fish smell was pretty strong. We would never go again. We had our 5 kids with us (14-3)

Visited February 2015
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

67 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    45
    16
    4
    2
    0
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great time for all”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2015 NEW

Staff was friendly and reassuring. We had never been in sea kayaks and we had 6 & 8 year olds as well as my parents in their late sixties. My parents went in a double and my youngest and I did too. 8 year old managed the kayak by herself. Clearly marked map was provided and we saw manatees up close and lots of birds.

Only thing I'd add is that we could have used assistance at the end of the trip getting out of the kayaks.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Family fun!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2015 NEW

My family had a wonderful time kayaking while in Ft Myers. The day was too chilly for the beach but perfect for paddling around the lagoon in tandem kayaks! Our ages range from 13-70 and Everyone had a blast! It was the highlight of our vacation. I feel like we found a hidden gem! We enjoyed the peaceful lagoon, saw lots of wildlife, and quickly learned to master the kayaks. We will definitely do this activity again!

Visited February 2015
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PortSanibelMarina, Manager at Port Sanibel Marina, responded to this review, 4 days ago
Dear Port Sanibel Marina Visitor,

Thank you for taking the time to review us! We appreciate your positive feedback and we are glad you enjoyed your kayaking adventure. To thank you for sharing your experience with us and other travelers, we would like to grant you with 10% OFF on a kayak or paddleboard rental during your next visit to the marina. Please visit us again soon! It will be warming up in the coming weeks.


Sincerely,

Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
26 attraction reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Nice marina”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2015

Small shops and kayaking/boating were available. Cute area. I really enjoyed watching the pelicans dive for fish. Nice relaxing area so visit!

Visited February 2015
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PortSanibelMarina, Manager at Port Sanibel Marina, responded to this review, 4 days ago
Dear Port Sanibel Marina Visitor,

Thank you for taking the time to review us! We appreciate your positive feedback and we are glad you enjoyed your visit. To thank you for sharing your experience with us and other travelers, we would like to grant you with 10% OFF on a kayak or paddleboard rental during your next visit to the marina. Please visit us again soon!


Sincerely,

Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St Louis, MO
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
21 attraction reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
75 helpful votes 75 helpful votes
“Kayaking at Port Sanibel!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2015

Took my two 12 year old boys to go kayaking here. An awesome time! It was a good value as well compared to other places to kayak in the area. We did some price shopping. About $50 for two kayaks. (a one person and a two person)

They provide you a clearly labeled map that guides you through the kayaking route. In one of the coves, we saw several manatees right up close. If you are quiet and try to just float and not paddle a lot you can get close enough to them to almost touch them.

Essentially you kayak through open water and several mangrove formations. Also saw some flying fish and several birds. The nice part is there is no current so it makes the kayaking pretty easy. Takes about 2.5 hours - but you could do it in less time as well.

You rent the kayaks from the marina office. The marina itself is beautiful and while kayaking along the way you also get to see some fabulous homes from the water.

Would highly recommend!

Visited January 2015
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PortSanibelMarina, Manager at Port Sanibel Marina, responded to this review, 4 days ago
Dear Port Sanibel Marina Visitor,

Thank you for taking the time to review us! We appreciate your positive feedback and we are glad you enjoyed your kayaking adventure. To thank you for sharing your experience with us and other travelers, we would like to grant you with 10% OFF on a kayak or paddleboard rental during your next visit to the marina. Please visit us again soon!

Sincerely,

Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Port Sanibel Marina also viewed

Fort Myers, Southwest Gulf Coast
Fort Myers, Southwest Gulf Coast
 
Fort Myers, Southwest Gulf Coast
Fort Myers, Southwest Gulf Coast
 

Been to Port Sanibel Marina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Port Sanibel Marina, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.