We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice day trip” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Edison & Ford Winter Estates

Edison & Ford Winter Estates
2350 McGregor Boulevard, Fort Myers, FL 33901
239-334-7419
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 51 Attractions in Fort Myers
Type: Historic Sites, Gardens
More attraction details
Attraction Details
Owner description: Visitors to the Edison & Ford Winter Estates in Fort Myers will enjoy 20 acres of historical buildings, historic gardens, the Edison Botanic Research Lab and the Estates Museum. The newly restored buildings include the Edison Main House, Guest House, and Caretaker’s House and the Ford House. The 1929 historic landscape is throughout the property including the award winning Moonlight Garden. The Estates Museum has hundreds of inventions, artifacts and special exhibits.
Useful Information: Bathroom facilities, Activities for older children, Wheelchair access
Vellinge, Sweden
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
12 attraction reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Very nice day trip”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2013

We had a very nice, interesting and educational daytrip to Edison and Ford winter estates in Fort Myers. We learned a lot about Edison's inventions, we actually had no idea how many inventions he has made. We took the audio self guided tour, that was nice so you can walk around in your own pace. The garden were nice but I wish we had been there during spring or summer so it would have been even more beautiful. The palm-lined street just outside is amazing. There are no food sold inside.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,361 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    891
    371
    81
    13
    5
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Minnesota
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Going back in time.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013

This is definately worth the time to visit. I don't always like these types of attractions but this was so unique and such a piece of history that I found myself falling behind the others in my group as I checked everything out more closely. I could have spent more time there. I never knew these two great men were close until I visited this. I found it extremely fascinating. It really was like going back in time.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newport Beach, CA
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
13 attraction reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Beautiful estates, low-key”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013

We had a very relaxing stroll around the grounds, and there is a self-guided audio that tells you all about each stop along the way. It was nice being able to walk anywhere you wanted on the grounds without having to just stay on the path. It was peacful, beautiful landscaping (and there were signs so you knew what the plants were - nice touch!), and it was interesting to see the houses. There were interesting videos as well in one of the cottages and back in the museum itself. It was pretty amazing to realize all the things that Edison was involved in and to see all the old pictures. Very much worth the time!!!

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
clearwater
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Beyond Beautiful!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2013

What a truly beautiful place!! Really shows the charming beauty of Florida as well as fasinating history of Mr. Edison and Mr.Ford. We toured with our 4 and 6-year old girls who also loved it. The basic self-guided tour comes with a hand held (almost large remote control shaped) speaker that you use as you walk through the grounds, the kids LOVED that! Love the old florida history and gorgeous grounds and plants. Every staff member was super friendly and extensively knowledgable. Beautiful and fun family day. We will absolutely be going back!

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Naples
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Where's Mr. Edison?”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2013

This a beautiful home to tour. It is so authentic that we kept expecting Thomas Edison to be working in one of the rooms. The only reason that I did not say excellent is that there is a lot of walking and you have to wait for a tour.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Edison & Ford Winter Estates also viewed

Fort Myers, Southwest Gulf Coast
Fort Myers, Southwest Gulf Coast
 
Fort Myers, Southwest Gulf Coast
Fort Myers, Southwest Gulf Coast
 

Been to Edison & Ford Winter Estates? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Edison & Ford Winter Estates, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.