We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Where's Mr. Edison?” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Edison & Ford Winter Estates

Edison & Ford Winter Estates
2350 McGregor Boulevard, Fort Myers, FL 33901
239-334-7419
Website
Update attraction details
Ranked #4 of 53 attractions in Fort Myers
Type: Historic Sites, Gardens
More attraction details
Attraction Details
Owner description: Visitors to the Edison & Ford Winter Estates in Fort Myers will enjoy 20 acres of historical buildings, historic gardens, the Edison Botanic Research Lab and the Estates Museum. The newly restored buildings include the Edison Main House, Guest House, and Caretaker’s House and the Ford House. The 1929 historic landscape is throughout the property including the award winning Moonlight Garden. The Estates Museum has hundreds of inventions, artifacts and special exhibits.
Useful Information: Activities for older children, Bathroom facilities, Wheelchair access
Naples
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Where's Mr. Edison?”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2013

This a beautiful home to tour. It is so authentic that we kept expecting Thomas Edison to be working in one of the rooms. The only reason that I did not say excellent is that there is a lot of walking and you have to wait for a tour.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,192 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    768
    334
    74
    12
    4
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
North Fort Myers, Florida, United States
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Electrifing!!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2013

Had a great tour, would definitely go back again. The renovations are great.
Had a great time..Will definitely take my friends back again......

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Myers, Florida
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 attraction reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“The Estate”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2013

What a great place to tour and move back in time. We have been several times, once a Christmas when the lights made the whole area sparkle. Great take for one and all.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
colden
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Beautiful grounds”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2013

We toured the estates and found it to be very interesting. The beautiful trees and flowers were amazing to see. I thought it would be a big deal not being allowed into the houses but we were able to see inside through the plexi-glass doors just fine. We were able to take a lot of pictures. We met two wonderful "docents" Karen and Joe that we found out were from our area in WNY. The $20 was just fine for us...when going to a movie is over $10 these days. You get a "headphone" that you can use at your leisure. There are other options like a guided tour or even a boat trip. We choose to do our own tour which worked out just fine.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bonita Springs
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“A time from the past.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2013

Very interesting. I have heard that it is really something during the Christmas holidays. Resortation seems to always be going on here.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Edison & Ford Winter Estates also viewed

Fort Myers, Southwest Gulf Coast
Fort Myers, Southwest Gulf Coast
 
Fort Myers, Southwest Gulf Coast
Fort Myers, Southwest Gulf Coast
 

Been to Edison & Ford Winter Estates? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Edison & Ford Winter Estates, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.