We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Where's Mr. Edison?” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Edison & Ford Winter Estates

Edison & Ford Winter Estates
2350 McGregor Boulevard, Fort Myers, FL 33901
+1 239-334-7419
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 103 things to do in Fort Myers
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: Visitors to the Edison & Ford Winter Estates in Fort Myers will enjoy seeing the winter residences of famous inventors Thomas Edison and Henry Ford. There are historical buildings, award-winning gardens, the Edison Botanic Research Lab and the Inventors Museum. The museum has hundreds of inventions, artifacts and special exhibits. Edison Ford offers many tour options, including special "Inside the Homes" and "Inside the Laboratory" Tours on select days. The audio tour is available in English, Spanish, German and French. Historian led tours are also offered in German and Spanish on select days. Group tours can be arranged in advance. River cruises are offered daily and dining options are available, including waterfront dining.
Useful Information: Activities for older children, Bathroom facilities, Wheelchair access
Naples
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Where's Mr. Edison?”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2013

This a beautiful home to tour. It is so authentic that we kept expecting Thomas Edison to be working in one of the rooms. The only reason that I did not say excellent is that there is a lot of walking and you have to wait for a tour.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,140 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,394
    587
    127
    21
    11
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
North Fort Myers, Florida, United States
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Electrifing!!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2013

Had a great tour, would definitely go back again. The renovations are great.
Had a great time..Will definitely take my friends back again......

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Myers, Florida
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“The Estate”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2013

What a great place to tour and move back in time. We have been several times, once a Christmas when the lights made the whole area sparkle. Great take for one and all.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
colden
Level Contributor
18 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Beautiful grounds”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2013

We toured the estates and found it to be very interesting. The beautiful trees and flowers were amazing to see. I thought it would be a big deal not being allowed into the houses but we were able to see inside through the plexi-glass doors just fine. We were able to take a lot of pictures. We met two wonderful "docents" Karen and Joe that we found out were from our area in WNY. The $20 was just fine for us...when going to a movie is over $10 these days. You get a "headphone" that you can use at your leisure. There are other options like a guided tour or even a boat trip. We choose to do our own tour which worked out just fine.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bonita Springs
Level Contributor
31 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“A time from the past.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2013

Very interesting. I have heard that it is really something during the Christmas holidays. Resortation seems to always be going on here.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Edison & Ford Winter Estates also viewed

Fort Myers, Southwest Gulf Coast
Fort Myers, Southwest Gulf Coast
 
Fort Myers, Southwest Gulf Coast
Fort Myers, Southwest Gulf Coast
 

Been to Edison & Ford Winter Estates? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Edison & Ford Winter Estates, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.