We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We are museum members” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Edison & Ford Winter Estates

Edison & Ford Winter Estates
2350 McGregor Boulevard, Fort Myers, FL 33901
+1 239-334-7419
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 103 things to do in Fort Myers
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: Visitors to the Edison & Ford Winter Estates in Fort Myers will enjoy seeing the winter residences of famous inventors Thomas Edison and Henry Ford. There are historical buildings, award-winning gardens, the Edison Botanic Research Lab and the Inventors Museum. The museum has hundreds of inventions, artifacts and special exhibits. Edison Ford offers many tour options, including special "Inside the Homes" and "Inside the Laboratory" Tours on select days. The audio tour is available in English, Spanish, German and French. Historian led tours are also offered in German and Spanish on select days. Group tours can be arranged in advance. River cruises are offered daily and dining options are available, including waterfront dining.
Useful Information: Activities for older children, Bathroom facilities, Wheelchair access
Cape Coral
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“We are museum members”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2013

This makes a great day trip for you and you kids/grandchildren. Even when the say they don't want to go, the always have had a good time and they actually learn somethimg each time. The only problem: the throngs of people who go there as well and the lines to get tickets. If it is possible, don't go during spring break time!

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,141 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,395
    587
    127
    21
    11
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Ft. Lauderdale
Level Contributor
64 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Wonderful museum.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2013

This was one of the best museums I have been to. So informative. You can choose a guide or go alone. And each room has a video with close caption. It was so interesting. A MUST SEE

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burlington, Vermont
Level Contributor
44 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Pricey but pretty”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2013

We opted for the self guided audio tour $20 per adult, which was great. The signs provide more info though. Loved the Ford house, can I move in? Great stroll through gardens and exhibits, great to sit and take in the river view.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oviedo, Florida
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Must See!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2013

Our whole reason for coming to Ft. Myers was to visit the Edison & Ford Winter Estate. We weren't disappointed! Besides the actual estate and garden there was a museum and and Eidson's lab. It was all well presented and you didn't feel rushed. The botanical was amazing! Could have spent all day there. It is great for the entire family. We also highly suggest checking out downtown Fort Myers and doing a historic walking tour. You get even more history of the area and how significant it was to Florida's development.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louisville
Level Contributor
36 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“An electrifying experience!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2013 via mobile

I was pleasantly surprised at this tour of the Edison and Ford winter homes! I arrived early in the day and signed up for the 10:00 am guided tour conducted by David. It was very well organized with an overview of the life and times of Edison and Ford. We moved to a walking tour of the grounds which were very well maintained and beautiful with orchids in bloom which were lovingly tended by Mrs. Edison. I would reccomend arriving early as the museum was crowded when I finished the tour at 11:30. I learned so much from this visit and commend the people of Ft. Myers for keeping the accomplishments of Mr.Edison alive for us to enjoy.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Edison & Ford Winter Estates also viewed

Fort Myers, Southwest Gulf Coast
Fort Myers, Southwest Gulf Coast
 
Fort Myers, Southwest Gulf Coast
Fort Myers, Southwest Gulf Coast
 

Been to Edison & Ford Winter Estates? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Edison & Ford Winter Estates, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.