We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Edison and Ford Winter Estates” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Edison & Ford Winter Estates

Edison & Ford Winter Estates
2350 McGregor Boulevard, Fort Myers, FL 33901
239-334-7419
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #3 of 33 Attractions in Fort Myers
Type: Historic Sites, Gardens, Cultural
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Visitors to the Edison & Ford Winter Estates in Fort Myers will enjoy 20 acres of historical buildings, historic gardens, the Edison Botanic Research Lab and the Estates Museum. The newly restored buildings include the Edison Main House, Guest House, and Caretaker’s House and the Ford House. The 1929 historic landscape is throughout the property including the award winning Moonlight Garden. The Estates Museum has hundreds of inventions, artifacts and special exhibits.
Useful Information: Wheelchair access, Bathroom facilities, Activities for older children
Littleton, Colorado, United States
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Edison and Ford Winter Estates”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2013

Even though we didn't have time for the tour it was still amazing. The Banyan Tree Harvey Firestone gave Thomas Edison in 1925 alone is worth the stop. It has now grown to almost one acre in diameter. This is a site of American royalty at its finest..

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,505 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    980
    415
    89
    15
    6
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Falls Church Va
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
13 attraction reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“I am sorry we did not do this with the previous generation”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

This was interesting. I do not usually go for the historic attractions but the grounds and homes were lovely and the wandering around with the self guided tour gave us a chance to dawdle when we were fascinated and move on when we were not. I highly recommend the self guided tour.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chester, New Jersey
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
16 attraction reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
“a really nice way to spend an afternoon”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

The property is lovely, on the river with the most amazing banyan and kapock trees. We took the self guided audio tour which was perfect - you go at your own pace. Edison arrived first and when the property next door became available Ford bought it. The homes are lovely, especially Ford's. There is also a great museum and Edison's labs to tour. A fast food lunch is available along with 2 gift shops. Be sure to watch the various movies to learn more about the families. We have toured Edison's NJ home/labs and are always facinated by how much our lives have improved due to his inventions - a true genius.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vero Beach, Florida
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
11 attraction reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Amazing peak into the life of two extraordinary men”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

The information about Thomas Edison and Henry Ford was extensive and the exhibits of Edison's inventions were very impressive. The botanical gardens were beautiful and the efforts to propagate and maintain existing species was well appreciated.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Midlothian, Virginia
Top Contributor
236 reviews 236 reviews
75 attraction reviews
Reviews in 74 cities Reviews in 74 cities
90 helpful votes 90 helpful votes
“Don't miss the EDISON FORD TOUR”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

WE were visiting in Ft Myers and stumbled upon this wonderful estate. One of the highlights for me as I LOVE trees are the numerous-amazing BANYAN TREES, the one is supposed to be
one of the largest anywhere; you won't believe how big it is......the tour is informative and well done. WE just sent my sister in law & bro in law there as we were together last week in Florida again. YOU will learn MUCH about these two great men who were great friends!!

Visited March 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Edison & Ford Winter Estates also viewed

Fort Myers, Southwest Gulf Coast
Fort Myers, Southwest Gulf Coast
 
Fort Myers, Southwest Gulf Coast
Fort Myers, Southwest Gulf Coast
 

Been to Edison & Ford Winter Estates? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Edison & Ford Winter Estates, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.