We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Edison & Ford Winter Estates Visit” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Edison & Ford Winter Estates

Edison & Ford Winter Estates
2350 McGregor Boulevard, Fort Myers, FL 33901
+1 239-334-7419
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #3 of 36 Attractions in Fort Myers
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Type: Historic sites, Gardens, Sights & Landmarks, Nature & Parks
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Visitors to the Edison & Ford Winter Estates in Fort Myers will enjoy seeing the winter residences of famous inventors Thomas Edison and Henry Ford. There are historical buildings, award-winning gardens, the Edison Botanic Research Lab and the Inventors Museum. The museum has hundreds of inventions, artifacts and special exhibits. Edison Ford offers many tour options, including special "Inside the Homes" and "Inside the Laboratory" Tours on select days. The audio tour is available in English, Spanish, German and French. Historian led tours are also offered in German and Spanish on select days. Group tours can be arranged in advance. River cruises are offered daily and dining options are available, including waterfront dining.
Useful Information: Activities for older children, Wheelchair access, Bathroom facilities
Omaha, Nebraska
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
19 attraction reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Edison & Ford Winter Estates Visit”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2013

This was an amazing step back in time. We did the self tour but still got a lot out of our visit. Very beautiful grounds and scenic area as well the history of the two homes and lab. It would be well worth the time taken to visit and is something we will always remember.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,726 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,118
    484
    100
    16
    8
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Lewiston NY
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Great Learning Experience”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2013

This was a fun place to visit - learned a lot about Edison and Ford that we never knew. Great way to spend the afternoon.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Memphis, Tennessee
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great Place to visit”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2013

Took out of town guests here and we all loved it, even in the summer heat. Beautiful grounds, great learning experience. We'll go back even without guests to entertain!

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chattanooga, Tennessee
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“MUST SEE - How the wealthy lived in yesteryear”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2013

Wonderful museum to Thomas Edison and Henry Ford. Possibly Florida's best collection of Banyan trees. Lots of historical and personal insights into the lives of Edison and Ford. If you're in west Florida, this is a must-see.

Also LOTS of flowers, and exquisite bougainvillea plantings.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Conifer, Colorado
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Wow, Incredible, Must See!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2013

What a beautiful place this is! The trees, flowers, plants and river view are what make this tour special. The houses have been beautifully restored and although you can't walk through them, you can look in through several open doors and see enough to get the feel for the two houses.
The fig and banyan trees are AMAZING!
We did the self guided audio tour and it took us 3 hours to make it through the garden and houses. We had to rush through the lab and museum since it was closing time so we missed out on reading a lot of the information in there. Give yourself enough time to see it all!
The cost was $20 each to see it all and I felt the price was well worth it, especially if it means keeping this place in such great condition.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Edison & Ford Winter Estates also viewed

Fort Myers, Southwest Gulf Coast
Fort Myers, Southwest Gulf Coast
 
Fort Myers, Southwest Gulf Coast
Fort Myers, Southwest Gulf Coast
 

Been to Edison & Ford Winter Estates? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Edison & Ford Winter Estates, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.