We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very cool gardens” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Edison & Ford Winter Estates

Edison & Ford Winter Estates
2350 McGregor Boulevard, Fort Myers, FL 33901
239-334-7419
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 51 Attractions in Fort Myers
Type: Historic Sites, Gardens
More attraction details
Attraction Details
Owner description: Visitors to the Edison & Ford Winter Estates in Fort Myers will enjoy 20 acres of historical buildings, historic gardens, the Edison Botanic Research Lab and the Estates Museum. The newly restored buildings include the Edison Main House, Guest House, and Caretaker’s House and the Ford House. The 1929 historic landscape is throughout the property including the award winning Moonlight Garden. The Estates Museum has hundreds of inventions, artifacts and special exhibits.
Useful Information: Activities for older children, Wheelchair access, Bathroom facilities
Auburn, Indiana
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
9 attraction reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“Very cool gardens”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2013

I’m not much into seeing old historic things and some of the items in the museum were cool but not to my liking. Seeing the houses was pretty interesting but what really got me were the gardens. They had trees and plants from all over the world and they were very cool! I think they have done a very nice job with the whole layout and if you enjoy history I think you would enjoy this place. If you want to see very cool trees and plants it’s a must visit.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,361 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    891
    371
    81
    13
    5
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
9 attraction reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Lovely and educational”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2013

Beautiful place. Knowledgable guides. Did you know early fords came with a buggy whip. Go and find out why.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maryland
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
9 attraction reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“A step back in history”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2013

The winter estates are well worth the visit. Bobby was our tour guide and he was very enthusiastic and informative. This is a must see if you are visiting Fort Myers. Make sure you allow time to see everything including the museum.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
33 attraction reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“What an interesting time spent”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2013

We really enjoyed the grounds. The weather was perfect. The leisurely time around the grounds was so relaxing. We saw the houses and the Lab. The area is such a wonderful place to be living. I hope to go back.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
9 attraction reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Bygone Days”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2013 via mobile

A fascinating and interesting museum giving an insight into the prolific development created by one individual. The houses and grounds are extremely well maintained and interesting to explore. But leave plenty of time to explore the museum behind the gift shop.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Edison & Ford Winter Estates also viewed

Fort Myers, Southwest Gulf Coast
Fort Myers, Southwest Gulf Coast
 
Fort Myers, Southwest Gulf Coast
Fort Myers, Southwest Gulf Coast
 

Been to Edison & Ford Winter Estates? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Edison & Ford Winter Estates, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.