We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A must see at least once or twice!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Edison & Ford Winter Estates

Edison & Ford Winter Estates
2350 McGregor Boulevard, Fort Myers, FL 33901
+1 239-334-7419
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 103 things to do in Fort Myers
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: Visitors to the Edison & Ford Winter Estates in Fort Myers will enjoy seeing the winter residences of famous inventors Thomas Edison and Henry Ford. There are historical buildings, award-winning gardens, the Edison Botanic Research Lab and the Inventors Museum. The museum has hundreds of inventions, artifacts and special exhibits. Edison Ford offers many tour options, including special "Inside the Homes" and "Inside the Laboratory" Tours on select days. The audio tour is available in English, Spanish, German and French. Historian led tours are also offered in German and Spanish on select days. Group tours can be arranged in advance. River cruises are offered daily and dining options are available, including waterfront dining.
Useful Information: Wheelchair access, Bathroom facilities, Activities for older children
Fort Myers, Florida
Level Contributor
43 reviews
20 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“A must see at least once or twice!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 24, 2012

I have been through this 3 times with family visiting. Just for the history is well worth the money and time. The labortory was great! Nice gift shop and grounds too.

Visited January 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,087 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,356
    578
    123
    20
    10
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Salem, Oregon
Level Contributor
82 reviews
25 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“A Walk Back in Time”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 24, 2012

If you are a big fan of Edison or Ford or simply into American history this is the place for you. I am history teacher and simply loved the place. My husband and I enjoyed the audio walk through where visitors are able to meander through the estate at their own place and still listen to neat facts. In addition, during the Christmas season the estate is lit up with lights at night. Well worth the visit!

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“unmissable american history”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2012

Great area of Ft Myres , a colonial property perfect for history buffs and students . Take your kid's and give them a insight into one of the greatest inventors of the 20th century

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Level Contributor
98 reviews
22 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Incredible preservation.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2012

Get the audio tour, you won't be disappointed. We spent about 3 hrs there on a beautiful day. We started with a group of about 10 but soon dispersed at our own pace. If you get a human guide, you have to move at their pace, but with the audio device, you can move along at your own.
The quality of the displays and the decorating for Christmas definitely helped us enjoy this combined site immensely.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison, Wisconsin, United States
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Horrible business practice”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2012

We didn't get to go in so I am only rating customer service. Horrible! It was our last day in Ft.. Myers Beach and we called ahead to check prices. We were told there were student prices and adults were $15.00. So we drove 40 plus minutes and were told $20 + per person. No apology, just " oh, we have volunteers and sometimes they get the pricing wrong". WHAT?! When I explained what happened, we didn't even get an apology. Isn't that considered bad business practice? I tried asking the office, or a manager, but was never allowed to talk to the manager. She was in a "meeting." The woman I spoke to said she would have the manager call and she never did.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Edison & Ford Winter Estates also viewed

Fort Myers, Southwest Gulf Coast
Fort Myers, Southwest Gulf Coast
 
Fort Myers, Southwest Gulf Coast
Fort Myers, Southwest Gulf Coast
 

Been to Edison & Ford Winter Estates? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Edison & Ford Winter Estates, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.