We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“unmissable american history” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Edison & Ford Winter Estates

Edison & Ford Winter Estates
2350 McGregor Boulevard, Fort Myers, FL 33901
239-334-7419
Website
Update attraction details
Ranked #4 of 53 attractions in Fort Myers
Type: Historic Sites, Gardens
More attraction details
Attraction Details
Owner description: Visitors to the Edison & Ford Winter Estates in Fort Myers will enjoy 20 acres of historical buildings, historic gardens, the Edison Botanic Research Lab and the Estates Museum. The newly restored buildings include the Edison Main House, Guest House, and Caretaker’s House and the Ford House. The 1929 historic landscape is throughout the property including the award winning Moonlight Garden. The Estates Museum has hundreds of inventions, artifacts and special exhibits.
Useful Information: Activities for older children, Wheelchair access, Bathroom facilities
Leeds, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“unmissable american history”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2012

Great area of Ft Myres , a colonial property perfect for history buffs and students . Take your kid's and give them a insight into one of the greatest inventors of the 20th century

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,192 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    768
    334
    74
    12
    4
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
21 attraction reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Incredible preservation.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2012

Get the audio tour, you won't be disappointed. We spent about 3 hrs there on a beautiful day. We started with a group of about 10 but soon dispersed at our own pace. If you get a human guide, you have to move at their pace, but with the audio device, you can move along at your own.
The quality of the displays and the decorating for Christmas definitely helped us enjoy this combined site immensely.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison, Wisconsin, United States
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Horrible business practice”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2012

We didn't get to go in so I am only rating customer service. Horrible! It was our last day in Ft.. Myers Beach and we called ahead to check prices. We were told there were student prices and adults were $15.00. So we drove 40 plus minutes and were told $20 + per person. No apology, just " oh, we have volunteers and sometimes they get the pricing wrong". WHAT?! When I explained what happened, we didn't even get an apology. Isn't that considered bad business practice? I tried asking the office, or a manager, but was never allowed to talk to the manager. She was in a "meeting." The woman I spoke to said she would have the manager call and she never did.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake Placid, New York
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
9 attraction reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Go during the Holidays.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2012

All decked out for Christmas this is a must if you are visiting the Ft. Myers area. Learn a lot about history and understand why Edison said "There is only one Ft. Myers and 90 million people are going to find out about it."

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
42 attraction reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Edison & Ford Winter Homes”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2012

I went with the family during the day and returned at night for the Christmas lights display (bring your receipt from the day for free entrance at night). I recommend seeing it in December because the houses have Christmas decorations. We went on a guided tour during the day which was about an hour long. We could only see the first floor of the houses via opened doorways and windows because of bug and water damage (several hurricanes hit this area a few years ago). Great for anyone who loves history and/or nature, there are so many beautiful plants. All the staff were very informative and friendly. In a few years they hope to have the pier fixed.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Edison & Ford Winter Estates also viewed

Fort Myers, Southwest Gulf Coast
Fort Myers, Southwest Gulf Coast
 
Fort Myers, Southwest Gulf Coast
Fort Myers, Southwest Gulf Coast
 

Been to Edison & Ford Winter Estates? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Edison & Ford Winter Estates, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.