We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Saint Patrick's Day Italian Style” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Cibo

Cibo
12901 Mcgregor Blvd, Ste 17, Fort Myers, FL 33919-4587
+1 239-454-3700
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 660 Restaurants in Fort Myers
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Italian, Mediterranean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Doing business, Special occasions, Bar scene, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania, United States
1 review
“Saint Patrick's Day Italian Style”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

It's Saint Patrick's Day. In fierce retreat of green beer , 4 of us joined at Cibo's for a quiet Italian dinner. On arrival, I was impressed by the the overall ambiance and welcoming atmosphere setting the stage for what would be an excellent meal. The pleasant staff and fabulous service defined the evening. Now here's the skinny on the food. Warm bread to start with butter,olive oil and olive tapenade topping and generous libations as we looked over the menu. My husband and I ordered off the main menu.For me, Fruits De MareHMMMM Scrumptious, fresh seafood with a lightly salted tomato sauce.For my husband, the veal chop-cooked to perfection.My sister and brother in law asked for the eggplant and veal parm dishes to be customized to their particular tastes. This was no problem for the chef to comply and deliver. None of us are dessert eaters. We finished off the meal with a lovely decaf expresso.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

383 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    299
    53
    18
    6
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Fort Myers, Florida
Level Contributor
45 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Consistent Pleasure !”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

We’ve dined at Cibo a number of times in recent years during trips to the area. Now that we are residents, our visits can be more frequent… and that’s a good thing.

Cibo never disappoints in terms of menu and service. Dishes range from classic favorites to creative variations.

Our most recent visit began with fried calamari and, as common as that is, Cibo puts a nice little spin on it by serving it over a bed of wilted arugula and pairing it with two different dipping sauces. And, for you calamari purists, they do not avoid serving the tentacles.

For the main dish, our foursome ended up with two dishes… their “always on the menu” salmon ala piccata and their pasta special. While seemingly every restaurant in the world offers salmon, Cibo makes it more interesting. Perfectly cooked to your preference, their Scottish salmon is harmonized with lemon caper butter, artichokes, parmesan, sweet pea risotto and shaved fennel.

Their ravioli is always terrific, but the one stuffed with short ribs and mascarpone is mouth-watering. The sauce is a wonderful au jus that complements it perfectly along with spring peas.

Every visit has found a pleasant, knowledgeable wait staff, and this occasion was no exception.

It is interesting to note that, during our years of dining here, the ownership changed. However, you would not even know as they have the same menu and most all of the staff. This is sometimes the slippery slope where a previously good establishment breaks the rhythm. Nope… not here… they didn’t miss a beat.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
21 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Favorite Italian”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013

Homemade, huge portions, wonderful flavor! Excellent entrees, salads and desserts. Best in Ft Myers. You definitely need reservations. Noisy but energetic crowd.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Upscale and Worth It”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

Food is outstanding. Service was very good. Expensive but worth it for a special night out. We had a very professional waiter ordered steak and seafood and enjoyed every morsel. Typical of a lot of restaurants in Fort Myers, shopping mall storefront but nicely decorated inside.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Avalon, NJ
Level Contributor
35 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Perfection”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

We went to Cibo’s for the first time since last year. It hasn’t changed at all. Perfect drinks, perfect food, perfect service, and perfect atmosphere. What would you expect from Ft. Myers best restaurant. Craig Komatz has his “eye on the ball” and strives for perfection.
The Veal Chop is still one of the best I ever had and the “Gravey” ( Italian for Red sauce) on the pasta dishes is fresh and tasty. Even us picky Italians will tell you it’s as good as Momma used to make. (High praise for sure)
Thanks Craig for making us feel at home.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cibo also viewed

Fort Myers, Southwest Gulf Coast
Fort Myers, Southwest Gulf Coast
 
Fort Myers, Southwest Gulf Coast
Fort Myers, Southwest Gulf Coast
 

Been to Cibo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cibo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.