We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Super hotel with great staff and I'm a tough tater.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Residence Inn Fort Myers Sanibel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Residence Inn Fort Myers Sanibel to your Saves list
Residence Inn Fort Myers Sanibel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   20371 Summerlin Road, Fort Myers, FL 33908   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Earn Rewards Points
Ranked #9 of 61 Hotels in Fort Myers
Certificate of Excellence 2014
GreenLeadersBronze level
Golden Isles of Georgia, Georgia
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Super hotel with great staff and I'm a tough tater.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2013

Made a last minute reservation when we realized we would not be able to get to a friend's home in Naples FL before too late. We were warmly greeted by the front desk personnel (two lovely ladies) with warm chocolate chip cookies and immediately given our room keys and very good as ice on dinner. The room was very quiet, well appointed and comfortable. The dinner recommendation was also very good and within walking distance. Definitely will stay here again when in the area.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

444 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    244
    147
    35
    14
    4
See reviews for
177
153
15
33
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (112)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Mansfield, Ohio
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2013

We spent 2 nights at the Sanibel Residence Inn. The first was the evening before our early morning departure on the Key West Express and the second was upon our late-evening return 2 days later. Where do I start? We were soooo impressed! The location was great. Right on the entry to Sanibel Island, across the street from an outlet mall, next to a Publix Grocery store and a casual restaurant. Our suite was beautiful - large living room/kitchen and 1 bedroom with 2 queen beds with a balcony overlooking the pool/hot tub/basketball court. We had our bicycles and asked if we could leave them stored while we were in Key West. Of course! We noticed there was a bike path that went right by the hotel. When we asked about eating dinner, the desk made reservations for us at the Lighthouse Restaurant right down the street. Everyone was extremely helpful and friendly. The free breakfast buffet was amazing. Lots of tables in a large, sunlit, attractive area. Eggs, potato and sausage mix, waffles, fresh cut fruit, and other things you would normally have, but with extras such as French Vanilla cream for coffee as well as 2 other choices, nuts for waffles, hot chocolate, choice of 2 different syrups, several muffin choices that were not pre-packaged, etc. Several times, someone came to our table to take dirty plates and ask if we wanted more coffee! We noticed dinner was also offered a couple nights each week in the breakfast area. Check-out time was not until 12:00 noon, so we spent a delightful morning lounging by the pool before we left. I can't say enough good things about our stay!

Room Tip: We stayed in a room with a balcony overlooking the pool - loved it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chcago, Illinois
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2013

This is our fourth stay at this hotel - we couldn't be happier.
Since we need a handicapped room, everything was perfect, especially the walk- in shower.

The front desk staff were very pleasant, especially Cheryl and Tim??
I mustn't forget the breakfast staff, especially Shannon and Rita.
Shannon always greeted guests with a smile and a "good morning":
Overall, we had a very pleasant stay every winter, and look forward to future stays.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Utica, New York, Usa
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2013

This was our second visit to the Residence Inn at Ft. Myers-Sanibel but it will not be our last. We stayed for three weeks and loved it. The accommodations are very comfortable, the amenities are excellent, and the staff is just terrific, friendly, pleasant, proactive, and responsive. The value is excellent. It's the staff that brings it all together. The best example is a woman who works the breakfast area. Her name is Shannon and she was welcoming, solicitous, helpful, very hard working, and seemed to genuinely enjoy her job and her guests. The Fitness Room is excellent, as are the pool and whirlpool. The only real complaint we had, and it is more of an annoyance than anything else, was the selection of television channels. It was limited and did not include PBS or MSNBC and the only movie channel was HBO. But that was minor. This is a great hotel for families, people traveling with pets as we were, and couples. It's also located within easy access to Sanibel-Captiva Islands and Ft. Myers Beach. If you get a chance, stay there!

Room Tip: There are no bad rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Framingham
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

Very nice accommodation. Rooms were fairly roomy. All appliances were relatively new and working well. Lots of well lighted parking and within a 150 yards of a small mall containing a Publix food store. The Inn has a full breakfast each morning with plenty of choice lots of seating for parties of two up to twelve. Old Town Ft. Myers is about a half hour ride. Sanibel and Captiva are only a few minutes.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ohio
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2013

This is my second stay at this hotel. I arrived on a Wednesday night with my husband and had reserved a one-bedroom with with two queen beds and a balcony overlooking the pool. Check-in was quick and efficient and I received the room I had booked. The staff seemed to be pleasant, so no problem there. I must say that the hotel was fully booked and it was not as clean and maintained as my last visit. The computers in the lobby were filthy with spill marks all over the screens. The floors were sticky and so were the tables in the dining room. My room was also not so clean. The glass sliding doors to the closet had all kinds of splash marks and who knows what on them. The stainless steel appliances in the kitchen were filthy on the outside. I advised the front desk that this room needs a "really" good cleaning, so maybe they will do that. The fitness room also was dirty. I wanted to go to the pool, but it was packed. There are only eight chaise lounges and all were taken at 10:00 a.m. The "chicken barbecue" on Wednesday night was disgusting. They served a frozen chicken patty along with some barbecue sauce. I have stayed at the Residence Inn in Port St. Lucie for barbecue night, and they served real chicken barbecued and it was delicious. Also, beer and wine were NOT served as most Residence Inn's do on Monday-Thursday.

Again, in all fairness to this hotel, February is prime season in this area and it is a very busy time. I suspect this might be the reason the hotel was not up to par. Everyone wants to check-in and get settled and no one wants to wait to have their room ready. But, no one wants a dirty hotel either.

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking the pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarasota, Florida
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2013

My wife and I spent five days here in early February for our yearly Birthday(mine)..Anniversary(shared )bash..and we had a great time..We started off with an upgrade which is always a bonus..from a one bedroom suite to a two..this meant three TV's unfortuately whats on get's no better..on to important facts..the suite was extremely comfortable..as were the beds..which from my experience all of Marriots hotel beds are..the breakfast was the usual fare.."I'm a porridge and fruit and nut man myself..make of that what you will... there was plenty of choice to satisfy others who have similar tastes ..plus a fair amount of artery clogging fare as well..which is how it should be..Nearly finished for those who are getting bored...the staff of of the friendly disposition type..and the place is sparkling ..Recommended..Oh...One more thing ..there is a large shopping outlet Mall over the road..and an even larger one a few miles down the road..Bring Large wallet/multiple Credit Cards..

Room Tip: A prayer to one's favourite Diety might work..If you do hit on the answer of how to get to the f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Residence Inn Fort Myers Sanibel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Inn Fort Myers Sanibel

Address: 20371 Summerlin Road, Fort Myers, FL 33908
Location: United States > Florida > Southwest Gulf Coast > Fort Myers
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Green Hotel in Fort Myers
#6 Family Hotel in Fort Myers
#9 Romantic Hotel in Fort Myers
#19 Business Hotel in Fort Myers
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Residence Inn Fort Myers Sanibel 3*
Number of rooms: 127
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Marriott, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Residence Inn Fort Myers Sanibel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Inn Fort Myers Sanibel Hotel Fort Myers

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Residence Inn Fort Myers Sanibel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.