We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Place-Would stay again” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Residence Inn Fort Myers Sanibel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Residence Inn Fort Myers Sanibel to your Saves list
Residence Inn Fort Myers Sanibel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   20371 Summerlin Road, Fort Myers, FL 33908   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Earn Up To 25,000 Points
Ranked #7 of 61 Hotels in Fort Myers
GreenLeadersBronze level
Melbourne Beach, Florida
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Great Place-Would stay again”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2013

This hotel was terrific. We had a wonderfully appointed little suite. Great little kitchenette and lounging room with separate bedroom. It was very nicely decorated (trendy) and clean. Beds were very comfy too. The breakfast was very good with plenty of options and continued hot food was put on the buffet. There was staff cleaning tables and asking to take away items we were finished with. All of the staff we encountered were very friendly and helpful. The hotel was very clean. The public areas were open and airy with lots of windows. The hotel was conveniently located to shopping and the entrance bridge to Sanibel. We would definitely stay again!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pam M, General Manager at Residence Inn Fort Myers Sanibel, responded to this review, February 11, 2013
To our valued guest.....

It is indeed very gratifying for us to hear from our satisfied guests. We work hard to ensure that our guests have an enjoyable stay and I will certainly share your posting with our entire staff.

Thank you for your posting and we look forward to welcoming your back, should your travels bring you to Fort Myers area in the future!

Yours in hospitality,
Pam Miller
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

400 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    230
    125
    29
    12
    4
See reviews for
159
139
14
31
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (101)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Omaha
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2013

Just returned from a 6 night stay. Great experience. ALL the staff were extremely friendly and helpful. Room was perfect for us with the separate bedroom. Beds were very comfortable and flipped the fan to on so never heard a thing. Pool was heated just right, very comfortable even for an evening swim. Never got tired of the breakfast spread.... scrambled eggs, meat, potatoes and a specialty item each day ie. breakfast sandwich, make your own pancakes, oatmeal, cereals, fruits, yogurt....just say that you couldn't go away hungry. Tuesday and Wednesday evening events, meatloaf one night and bbq'd chicken the other. Staff was friendly and helpful. Steered us to several nearby restaurants. Gator Bites across the parking lot was a hit. Even the gator bites tho they had 'normal food' also. Lighthouse wharf just a mile down road towards Sanibel was delicious for our last dinner, Grilled grouper ...mmmm!!! Husband's prime rib was best he's had in awhile and we're from beef country, Nebraska. All in all.... we would return and stay again !!!

Room Tip: The west side, even numbered rooms had views and lanais. I'd pay the extra to overlook the natu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pam M, General Manager at Residence Inn Fort Myers Sanibel, responded to this review, February 11, 2013
To our Valued Past Guest!
I want to thank you for the kind words about your recent stay with us. Your thoughts are important to us, but we're especially pleased when the feedback is positive.

We try hard to provide the best possible customer service to our guests and their satisfaction is our reward. Please know that I will share your posting with our entire Staff.

We really appreciate you taking the time to let us know we're doing something right! We look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Yours in hospitality,
Pam Miller
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pacifica, California
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2013

We are a family of five. This was perfect for us with two bedrooms and a fold out couch. The hotel is very clean, over stocked breakfast buffet, and in a great location. Publics in the same shopping area, just across the bridge from Sanibel Island, ten minutes to the boat to Key West, and half hour to the Edison, Ford Estate. The staff is very friendly and extremely knowledgeable of the area.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pam M, General Manager at Residence Inn Fort Myers Sanibel, responded to this review, February 11, 2013
To our Valued Guest...

I want to thank you for the kind words you said about your recent stay with your family. Your thoughts are important to us, but we're especially pleased when the feedback is positive.

We try hard to provide the best possible service to our guests and their satisfaction is our reward.

We really appreciate you taking the time to let us know we're doing something right. We look forward to serving you in the future.

Yours in hospitality,
Pam Miller
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

We chose this hotel because we had a difficult time navigating options right on Sanibel - a lot of condos, which would work well, but they are privately owned and it was difficult to know which ones would be could. Seemed hit and miss, so we decided to go with a more generic hotel option across from the Island, and picked this one. The main advantage to staying on the mainland when visiting Sanibel is the rate difference. This was a very affordable 2 bedroom suite with full kitchen and a full breakfast buffet. For our purposes with a toddler, it worked out exceptionally well. We also had a view of the wetlands, which were gorgeous. And having 2 ensuite bathrooms was also great. So for being able to put the toddler down to sleep and then enjoy our evening in the rest of the spacious suite, this hotel was superb. To get to Sanibel was just a few minutes to the causeway. TIP: look for dolphins on the right side of the causeway as you drive over!

The breakfast was fairly good for a free buffet - real eggs (some places have those weird powdered eggs) and some variety day to day. A lovely sunny room to eat in, as well. My husband used the pool and thoroughly enjoyed it - had it to himself in the evening. Very quiet hotel as well. Front desk staff were also very helpful and friendly.

Down side is that being off Sanibel you don't have the greatest restaurant options. I had no idea Fort Myers was so limited in its options (it actually makes sense, because it's a very small city). The "downtown" looked so pretty online, but when you go it feels like a small town with sleepy businesses and mediocre food with very few choices, and almost all of them "white-bread" options. So food on Sanibel is better, if you can afford the higher hotel rates.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a wetlands view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pam M, General Manager at Residence Inn Fort Myers Sanibel, responded to this review, January 27, 2013
To our valued past guest.....

I want to thank you for the kind words you said about your recent stay with us. Your comments are important to us, but we're especially pleased when the feedback is positive.

We try hard to provide the best possible customer service to our guests and their satisfaction is our reward. Please know that I will share your posting with our entire Staff.

We really appreciate you taking the time to let us know we're doing something right!

We look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Yours in hospitality,
Pam Miller
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Webster, New York
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

We really enjoyed our stay at this Residence Inn. We have stayed at many Residence Inns and this one matched our expectation as it relates to the rooms (two bedroom) and the location. We liked being on a higher floor where we could see the Gulf, and the places we had visited during the day.

We thought the staff were a bit sharp, and not very helpful. The breakfast was ok, but not up to the standard of other Residence Inns that we have stayed at.

We'd probably look for another place to stay if we visited the area again.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pam M, General Manager at Residence Inn Fort Myers Sanibel, responded to this review, January 27, 2013
Valued past guest.....

Thank you for taking the time to communicate to us and I am dissappointed that we feel short in the level of service we provided and for that, I truly apologize.

It is not often that I hear this and I take all of our guests comments seriously. We try hard to provide the best possible service to our guests to not only meet, but to exceed their expectations.

In seeing that your stay was back in October of 2012, I would like to inform you that we have in fact, made some Staff changes since then. I strongly belive your experience will be more positive should you allow us to regain your confidence.

Once again, we appreciate your feedback as it will assist us in becoming better at what we do. It's our goal to retain you as a satisfied customer and we hope to serve you again in the future.

Yours in hospitality,
Pam Miller
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gaithersburg, Maryland
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

This is a really nice hotel with a great location. Associates were friendly, helpful, and able to provide directions and suggestions. Public space is clean and well kept. Free breakfast was very good with a few different items everyday. Loved the spacious 2 bedroom suite that I shared with my kids. Really close to Ft. Myers beach and Sanibel Island. Outlets across the street were good on a cloudy morning while we waited for the sun to come out. Grocery store next to hotel.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pam M, General Manager at Residence Inn Fort Myers Sanibel, responded to this review, January 24, 2013
To our valued past guests....

I am happy to see that you and your family enjoyed your time with us, as this is our main goal for the guests. I will definitely share your post, with the Staff as it is always nice to hear that their efforts are acknowledged. We do our best to make everyone feel at home.

Should your travels bring you back this way, we hope you will again, give us the priviledge to welcome you to our hotel again.

Yours in hospitality,
Pam Miller
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maryland
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

This was our fifth year coming to this Residence Inn and it is always wonderful. Every desk attendant we spoke to was helpful and pleasant (thank you, Katy, Cheryl, and Margarita!!), the breakfast room manager was delightful (thank you, Shannon!!), and the breakfast attendants were very efficient at replacing items and keeping the room immaculate. The entire staff could not have been nicer. The breakfast offerings are very varied and always included scrambled eggs, a meat, a potato, and another offering such as French toast or breakfast sandwiches plus fresh fruit, make-your-wn waffles, yoghurt, oatmeal, cold cereal, etc, etc. We never needed lunch. Light dinners are offered two weekdays and we really enjoyed the bbq sandwiches and salads when we arrived tired on our first day in Florida. We had reserved a one bedroom suite but, since a tour group had all the one bedrooms, we were upgraded to a two bedroom for our entire stay. We had requested a suite on a high floor overlooking the marshlands and we were given a two bedroom with the exact view we requested. The suite was immaculate, the maid service was excellent, the bed was comfortable, and we loved having a full kitchen where we could prepare dinner when we wished. The hotel is in a quiet area of Ft. Myers with minimal traffic, but next to a small center with a grocery and across the street from a Tanger outlet that is landscaped and set back from the road to maintain the quiet atmosphere. Fifteen minutes from lots of great restaurants and an easy drive to rt. 75 and Naples. We can't wait to come back next year!!!

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking the marshes. They're fascinating to watch and we often saw flocks of...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pam M, General Manager at Residence Inn Fort Myers Sanibel, responded to this review, January 24, 2013
To our loyal past guests.....

We are truly honored when we hear that guests have visited us many times, and for that, we thank you for giving us the opportunity!

It is always great to hear that we have provided exemplary service to our guests, as we do our utmost to not only meet, but exceed our guests expectations. As the General Manager, it makes me proud to be affiliated with such a great Team. I will certainly share your posting with everyone.

Again, thank you for sharing your experience and remaining a loyal customer and we look forward to being able to welcome you back to "your home away from home" again in the future.

Yours in hospitality,
Pam Miller
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Residence Inn Fort Myers Sanibel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Inn Fort Myers Sanibel

Address: 20371 Summerlin Road, Fort Myers, FL 33908
Location: United States > Florida > Southwest Gulf Coast > Fort Myers
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Green Hotel in Fort Myers
#6 Romantic Hotel in Fort Myers
#7 Family Hotel in Fort Myers
#13 Business Hotel in Fort Myers
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Residence Inn Fort Myers Sanibel 3*
Number of rooms: 127
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Marriott, Orbitz, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Expedia and Tingo so you can book your Residence Inn Fort Myers Sanibel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Inn Fort Myers Sanibel Hotel Fort Myers

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Residence Inn Fort Myers Sanibel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.