We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stay here.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Residence Inn Fort Myers Sanibel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Residence Inn Fort Myers Sanibel to your Saves list
Residence Inn Fort Myers Sanibel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   20371 Summerlin Road, Fort Myers, FL 33908   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Earn Rewards Points
Ranked #10 of 61 Hotels in Fort Myers
Certificate of Excellence 2014
GreenLeadersBronze level
Margate, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Stay here.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2012

Have to compliment this hotel, we had a great long weekend here with friends, the staff were friendly, the room was really nice, and the overall service and comfort were second to none.

Lovely pool to relax in, and the Jacuzzi was really great to unwind at the end of the day.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

468 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    254
    158
    37
    15
    4
See reviews for
182
165
15
33
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (118)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
USA
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2012

We've been to several Residence Inns and have expectations of quality. After coming here, we are hesitant to ever go back to a Residence Inn anywhere, it was so bad. Beginning with check in, it was slow, clerk took his time. We were tired and hungry. We had 3 adults (2 queen beds). However, there were only towels for 2, necessitating a long walk back to the front desk asking for an additional set of towels, as I didn't want to wait an undeterminable amount of time for someone to deliver them to me. The desk clerk had attitude and acted as if I was asking above and beyond. Second, one of the overhead lights in the room was burned out. Next, one of the queen beds had a huge dip on one side, resulting in a poor sleep. The next morning, the breakfast buffet was pathetic, the selection was very small, hardly any fresh fruit, and the oranges were from Mexico or California (this is a Florida hotel!), the foods were either slowly refilled or not refilled at all, so if they ran out of something (with a full hotel, this happened rather quickly) there wasn't anyone around to refill, and oh well, too bad for you! When the room was cleaned, our towels were not replaced with clean ones one time, and another time, the towels were clean but not folded, just placed in a heap in the bathroom. The exercise room was being worked on, and a worker asked me to move off the treadmill while I was in the middle of the workout. He was not offering to move the treadmill or plug it in somewhere else. I had to just quit. The other treadmill was moved away from an outlet, so it was not useable either.Our room was on the first floor and had a sliding glass patio door (despite my reservation request to be on a higher floor). Directly on the other side of the glass door, inches away, was a table with chairs, which guests could sit at (and did). Made me feel that the room was not secure. The sliding glass doors did not have a bar going across to prevent a break-in. At checkout, I heard the desk clerk tell a woman who had reservations that "the internet overbooks the hotel, and there were no rooms left." The best thing I could say about the hotel was the location near Sanibel Island. It's a very easy drive ($6 each time to cross the bridge) to the island.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2012

We stayed at this Inn for a week in December 2011. It was our second visit and this inn is a definite consideration for another visit. We found the hotel location so handy to the beaches and Sanibel Island. The inn is close to a supermarket and it was great to have fresh healthy snacks and drinks on hand throughout the day. The staff was at the front desk was knowledgeable about the area, helpful and accommodating, always doing their best to make our stay as pleasant as possible. The rooms were clean, freshened up early in the day, and most comfortable. Whenever we had a suggestion or request it was handled immediately and this positive attitude and follow up action gave us a very positive feeling about this inn.

Room Tip: Rooms facing Sanibel Island are the best as in the early morning you can watch white pelicans and nu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lymington, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2012

Follows the standard format for this chain but benefits from large open areas in the lobby with big windows. Great convenient location. Staff are very helpful even holding onto some items (alcoholic beverages) we left behind for 4/5 days having called in on the off chance they might be there!

Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Carolina
Top Contributor
265 reviews 265 reviews
71 hotel reviews
Reviews in 121 cities Reviews in 121 cities
181 helpful votes 181 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2012

After a bad experience at another hotel in the area, we left that hotel and checked in to the Residence Inn. The staff is very friendly, and the rooms are clean and modern. I had to work while on vacation and found that I had everything I needed - good desk, good cellphone signal and good wifi. Hotel is conveniently located. The rates are a bit higher at the Residence Inn but well worth it compared to the lower quality and service at other lower priced hotels in the area.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Cod, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2012

This is our 3rd time here. Each time we come we stay longer. We used to stay on the beach, but between the pricey hotels and condos, and the busy beach traffic, we decided to try this place and have not been disapointed yet!!! Nice big rooms, full kitchens, very very clean. The staff here are AWESOME!!!!! Everyday we get a free full hot breakfast. And, usually 2 nights a week they give us a free supper!!! Doesn't get better than that! The Island of Sanibel is only 3 minutes away as well as Fort Myers Beach if you want salt water and sand. The pool here is wonderful and is kept very clean everyday. Publix grocery store is right next door making very convenient to buy groceries to fill your fridge. Great eating places near by too. We always ask for a balcony room overlooking the pool!!! So nice to have early morning coffee on the balcony when the sun comes up listening to the tropical birds. Nice sidewalks for walking or biking. The front desk staff even provided us with used beach chairs to use for the week while we were here. We will be back next year for sure!!! Highly recomend this suite hotel for families too!!!!

Room Tip: Request a balcony room for a better view!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hampton, New Hampshire
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2012

We stayed at this hotel for a week In April and we can't wait to go back!

It's just 15-20 minutes from the Ft Myers airport. From the time we entered the bright, colorful lobby, greeted by the nicest front desk staff we've ever had the pleasure to meet, we knew we had found a special "home away from home"!

We had a fabulous two-room apartment-type suite, with a fully-equipped kitchen (wine glasses included!), with stainless appliances, granite counter tops, an entry area with desk (laden with pamphlets of local information, "things to do", etc), a lovely dining area, and a living room with a sleep sofa and big TV. Off the living room was a sliding door to a small furnished balcony, with a view of the pool area and the natural preserve behind the hotel. The bedroom was huge, with two chests of drawers, large TV, big picture window allowing for bright light and a connecting bathroom area and large mirroed closet, containing a room safe. The bathroom is perfectly designed, with a granite sink area (fully mirrored with great lighting) outside the door of the toilet and shower area. Our room was sparkling--- clean and beautifully furnished. Nothing out-dated here! And, you get to decide how frequently you want maid services.

The gated pool area is beautiful. The pool is kidney-shaped (3-5 feet deep) with an adjacent spa tub. We even saw a small blow-up kiddie pool for families to use for younger children. Plenty of loungers and tables with umbrellas, too!

The hotel serves a FREE full hot and cold breakfast each morning and the menu varies each day....soup to nuts, healthy and delicious! Several nights during the week, the staff hosts a special event, like a cocktail party, wine and cheese, or a small supper for guests--- yes, also FREE. Washers and dryers are available (coin-operated) and the large, open sitting area, adjacent to the lobby and dining room, boasts computers and a small business center...FREE again. Bikes and surreys are available for rent, just outside the lobby door and there's a small
"canteen", with snacks, etc. avalable for purchase, adjacent to the front desk. We were flabbergasted. This hotel has overlooked nothing!

The location and convenience are great and cannot be overstated. We went right next door to the shopping mall to get our groceries, beer, wine, liquor, sun lotions, toiletries--- whatever we needed. There's also a good Chinese restaurant over there (great prices and freshly-made dishes). And, the Tanger outlet stores are just across the street. The bridge to Sanibel Island is just two miles away and there are innumerable great restaurants nearby. Bunge Beach--- one of the most beautiful and well-photographed beaches in the state, if not the country--- is just a short two-mile walk or bike away. A Park Ranger told us that it is world-renown for birds and water fowl viewing, especially late in the day, as sunset approaches..

Finally, the staff at this hotel is among the best--- attentive, down-to-earth, courteous and all willing to go the extra mile to make our stay as pleasant as possible. And, how many hotels loan out coolers, beach chairs and sun umbrellas, free of charge. Well, they do here!

Dollar for dollar, this hotel cannot be beat. One of our best stays in Florida ever! Thank you, Residence Inn, Ft. Myers/Sanibel. We look forward to seeing you again soon.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Residence Inn Fort Myers Sanibel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Inn Fort Myers Sanibel

Address: 20371 Summerlin Road, Fort Myers, FL 33908
Location: United States > Florida > Southwest Gulf Coast > Fort Myers
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Green Hotel in Fort Myers
#8 Family Hotel in Fort Myers
#9 Romantic Hotel in Fort Myers
#20 Business Hotel in Fort Myers
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Residence Inn Fort Myers Sanibel 3*
Number of rooms: 127
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Marriott, Hotels.com, Odigeo and TripOnline SA so you can book your Residence Inn Fort Myers Sanibel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Inn Fort Myers Sanibel Hotel Fort Myers

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Residence Inn Fort Myers Sanibel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.